What is a Database?
A database is just a fancy name for a collection of magazines, journals, newspapers, books, reference materials, ebooks, videos, and more. All of these sources are online and available to you from home 24 hours a day.
How Do I Access the EPCC Library Online Databases?
To access the databases:
Subject: Literature
Bloom's Literature -- [Full Text | Infobase] *NEW*
To use: Go to the "Literature" Tab - Click on Bloom's Literature - Enter the title of your short story in the search box (Ex:The Cask of Amontillado) - See what you items you retrieve. You can also try enter the authors name (Ex: Edgar Allan Poe) by itself or with the title (Ex: The Cask of Amontillado and Edgar Allan Poe). Across the top if will tell you what type of resources are available: Reference, Criticism, Literary Works, Images, Videos, Timelines. Click on the resource type that you want to see. On the right side you will see how to narrow your results to items such as Topic and Theme or Thematic and Structural Analysis. You can select one of those categories to help you narrow down your search.Find the item you would like to view and click on it. If you like the item, you can use the icons at the top to save, print, or download it. There is also a citation icon to help you cite the source MLA style. These citations are computer generated, so just check it to make sure it is correct.
Bloom’s Literature contains a wide range of reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors; features more than 400 full-length videos of great literary works, from comedies to dramas to musicals; offers specific, user-friendly guidance on how to write good essays on the most assigned authors and works of literature.
https://online.infobaselearning.com
Subject: Literature
Gale Literature -- [Full Text | Gale]
To use: Go to the "Literature" Tab - Click on Gale Literature - Use the search boxes to search for resources on your short story. Place the title of the short story in the search box and then change the box to the right of it (under Field) to "Name of work" (Ex: A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings). You can also try enter the authors name (Ex: Raymond Carver) by itself and then change the box to the right of it (under Field) to "Person by or About" or you can try one line with the title and the second line with the author name. Across the top if will tell you what type of resources are available: Literature Criticism, Biographies, Topic & Work Overviews, Reviews and News, Primary Sources and Literary Works, Multimedia. Click on the resource type that you want to see. Find the item you would like to view and click on it. If you like the item, you can use the icons at the top to save, print, or download it. There is also a citation icon to help you cite the source MLA style. These citations are computer generated, so just check it to make sure it is correct.
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Also, cross-search these Gale literature archive resources which look and feel like the print originals which include Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, 19th Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography and Something About the Author.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Online databases are available 24 hours a day.
Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on the database names. Enter your MyEPCC login information.
When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/services/libraries
