Philosophy & Ethics - Ricardo Rivera: Articles/Online Databases

Subject: Controversial Issues

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints -- [Full text | Gale]

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources.

Subject: General Interest

Academic Search Complete -- [Full Text | Ebsco] 

This database provides access to more than 13,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

Academic One File -- [Full text | Gale]

Provides indexing to more than 13,000 titles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, arts, theology, literature, engineering, business and other subjects beginning in 1980.  Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 7,300 academic journals and reference sources with more than 5,000 full-text.

Subject: Newspapers/Current Events

Access World News  [Full Text | NewsBank] 

A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
http://iw.newsbank.com/

Subject: Humanities

Humanities Full Text -- [Full Text | Ebsco]

Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals - of which 470 are peer-reviewed - dating as far back as 1984.

Religion & Philosophy Collection -- [Full Text | Ebsco]

Provides extensive coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Includes more than 300 full text journals, of which more than 250 are peer-reviewed titles.

Subject: Reference

Credo Reference -- [Full text | Infobase]

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos

Last updated:  January 25, 2024

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries​

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your topic: Controversial Issues, General Interest, Newspaper/Current Events, Humanities, or Subject of your topic ex. Health.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (If you are off-campus, click on "Off-campus access." You will be asked to enter your last name and EPCC ID number.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access.  Just click on "Off Campus Access" next to any of the database names.  Enter your last name and EPCC ID number.

If your instructor ever asks you to find a magazine or a journal, you might be wondering,  What is the difference?

Magazine

• Written for a general audience at about the 7th grade level.
• Articles are usually written by people with Journalism or English degrees.  The author's don't always have a degree in the field they are writing about.
• Usually have a lot of pictures and advertisements.  The goal of a magazine is to sell magazines, so they put something eye-catching on the cover to get your attention.

Journal

• Contains information and research on a particular field of study. 
• Articles in journals are written by people who have a degree in that particular or similar field or they have a lot of experience in that area of study.
• The articles are usually written for the professional and may use technical language.
• The goals of a journal is to further knowledge in a particular field.
• Articles usually contain abstracts, graphs, and bibliographies.
• There are journals for all different types of subjects (Business, Political Science, Nursing, Libraries, Science, History, etc...)
• Information is more reliable than a magazine because the articles are written by professionals in that field.