EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) allows you to search multiple databases and the Library Catalog from a single search box. Results may include articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals; books; and e-books.
EBSCO Health & Wellness Databases -- [EBSCO]
Click on link above to search all or several of these databases.
Academic Search Complete -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Provides full text for 4,600 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies with some information dating as far back as 1975.
Alt-HealthWatch -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Full text articles from over 180 publications focus on complementary and alternative approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Complete -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
CINAHL Complete, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexes over 5,400 journals and provides full text for more than 1,400 journals in nursing, allied health disciplines, alternative/complementary medicine, and health sciences librarianship.
Consumer Health Complete [Full Text | EBSCO]
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Health Source®: Consumer Edition -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 135 health reference books including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). Drug information and patient education fact sheets are included in the Clinical Pharmacology portion of this database.
Health Source®: Nursing/Academic Edition -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Provides full text of nearly 550 scholarly full text journals in many medical disciplines. Strong coverage of nursing and allied health areas. Includes Clinical Pharmacology database. Updated on a daily basis.
MedicLatina -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Provides a full-text Spanish language collection of nearly 100 Latin American peer-reviewed medical research and investigative journals.
MEDLINE -- [EBSCO]
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. No full-text articles.
Natural & Alternative Treatments -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Provides "detailed information on almost 200 different conditions and the conventional and natural treatments used to treat them, over 300 herbs and supplements, plus drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions for more than 90 drug categories."
Salud en Español -- [Full Text | EBSCO]
Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health-related themes: first aid, infant/childcare and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.
Indexes periodicals covering a wide range of health and medical topics, some with full text.
ProQuest Health Research Premium Collection -- [Full text | ProQuest]
Provides access to health, medical, nursing, psychology and public health journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations.
PubMed -- [National Library of Medicine]
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 34 million citations. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources.
Salem Press Online -- [Online Books - EPCC owned titles] [Full Text | Salem Press]
Provides searchable full text for EPCC-owned health books from Salem Press.
Credo Reference [Full text | Credo]
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and hundreds of videos.
Credo Video Collection -- [Videos | Credo]
A collection of video segments on various topics such as anatomy, art history, biology, food and cooking, medicine, political leaders, and National Geographic videos covering a range of disciplines including astronomy, anthropology, atmospheric science, botany, chemistry, geography, zoology and more.
Merck Manual for the Consumer -- [Full Text | Merck]
Consumer version of popular Manual. The best first place to go for medical information.
Merck Manual for the Professional -- [Full Text | Merck]
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.
Merck Veterinary Manual Online -- [Full Text | Merck]
For more than 60 years, the Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) has provided veterinarians and other animal health professionals with concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.
Prescriber's Digital Reference -- [Full text | PDR]
Physician's Desk Reference was published in print until 2017. Now available for free and online, as Prescriber's Digital Reference.
General Databases
Academic OneFile -- [Full Text | Gale]
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Academic Search Complete -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. http://search.ebscohost.com/
Access World News -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. http://iw.newsbank.com/
AVON (Academic Video Online) -- [Videos | Alexander Street]
It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. https://search.alexanderstreet.com/avon
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints -- [Full Text | Gale]
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels. http://infotrac.galegroup.com
Access Physiotherapy [Full text | McGraw-Hill Education] *NEW*
Devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool.
Films on Demand: Nursing Current Concepts and Practices Collection -- [Videos | Infobase] *NEW*
This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine -- [Full Text | Gale] *NEW*
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
LitCovid -- [NIH/National Library of Medicine]
Updated Scientific literature regarding 2019 novel Coronavirus. Subcollection of articles from PubMed updated daily.
MICROMEDEX ® 2.0 Healthcare Series -- [Full text | Merative]
A wide range of clinical databases which include unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Information includes: CareNotes™ System (patient care); Formulary Advisor™, the PDR® Electronic Library and Red Book Online (pharmacy).
NeoFax/Pediatric -- [Full text | Truven Health Analytics]
Provides Evidence based Drug Monographs and Enteral Formula information for neonatal and pediatric patients.
May be used from EPCC campuses and off-campus locations that are NOT clinical sites. Exception: If the clinical site subscribes to MICROMEDEX it may be used at that location by EPCC students, faculty and staff.
Nursing Education in Video, 3rd ed. -- [Videos | ProQuest]
Provides over 300+ full length training videos on subjects such as nursing, healthcare, anatomy and physiology, assessment, HIPAA, medications, phlebotomy, auscultation, infection control, feeding, pathophysiology, infection control, bloodborne infection, documentation and more.
Ovid Nursing Community College Extended Journal Collection -- [Full Text | Wolters Kluwer]
This database contains 42 active journal titles with Full Text to the present on all titles.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database -- [University of Sydney]
Provides over 48,000 trials, reviews, and guidelines for physiotherapy interventions.
Search scholarly articles by typing the film/movie title or historical facts/context
Databases are available 24 hours a day.
Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on "Off Campus Access" next to any of the database names.
Remember, what you see on the left is only a selection of databases shown or discussed during the Library presentation. For the full list of databases, click on the link below
Newspaper Databases
Access World News -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
America’s Historical Newspapers (1690-2000) -- [Full Text | NewsBank]
Includes hundreds of primary source historical U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and the 20th Century. Features the complete content of each issues, including news stories, illustrations. advertisements, cartoons and much more. Students can explore virtually every aspect of American history, culture and daily life from the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, westward expansion, the Civil War, Reconstruction, industrialization, the Progressive Era, World War I, Vietnam War, the Great Depression, World War II, roaring Twenties and more.
http://iw.newsbank.com/
NexisUni -- [Full Text | LexisNexis®]
This database provides access to more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. http://www.nexisuni.com/
Newspaper Source Plus -- [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides selected full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily. http://search.ebscohost.com/
New York Times (1851-2013) -- [ProQuest]
Collections: New York Daily Times (1851-1857); New York Times (1857-2013)
http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes?accountid=7027
