Digital Radiography in Practice by
Medical radiography programs will appreciate having an economical textbook that focuses on the practical aspects of digital radiography. Nearly all textbooks to date claiming the title "digital radiography" have dealt primarily with the managerial aspects of the topic at the expense of any practical information on how digital imaging works and its clinical implications for the daily practice of radiography. The goal of this book is to provide an accurate and adequate description of all the aspects of digital images and digital equipment, and their implications for radiographic technique and clinical application in a student-friendly way by providing crisp, clear illustrations along with readable text. Many of the lucid illustrations in this textbook are from the author's comprehensive textbook, Radiography in the Digital Age (Charles C Thomas, 2018), to make digital radiography comprehensible to the student, but in this book the focus is only on digital topics and the facts are stated with such brief explanatory material as each topic will allow. Many digital topics are intimidating, and every attempt is made to reduce these topics to a descriptive, non-mathematical level that can be intuitively understood by the average student. A helpful glossary is included whenever a concise definition is needed for a particular term.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by
Learn the professional and patient care skills you need for clinical practice! Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic Sciences and Patient Care, 6th Edition meets the standards set by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Curriculum Guide and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Task List for certification examinations. Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text ensure you are well prepared for clinical success. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Back of book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation give you the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! Patient care video clips illustrate how to care for patients of any age. NEW! Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and as tear sheets in the text offer easy access to on-the-go chapter review and lab activities. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Patient Care in Radiography by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations. Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Radiography in the Digital Age by
This 3rd edition of Radiography in the Digital Age was peer-reviewed by five colleagues who brought many valuable corrections and improvements to the text. The entire textbook has been converted to metric units, and to Systeme International (SI) units for radiation biology and protection. This was done to make it more usable for an international community of educators, and to align with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists' adoption of SI units in 2016. The ability of digital processing not only to generally compensate for scatter radiation, but to correct specific fog patterns in the image is more fully explained. Many crisp illustrations have been added, along with helpful tables and refinements to the text designed to make the entire presentation more student-friendly. Remarkable clarity and concise descriptions help the student with more complicated topics, especially in the digital domain. The practical limitations of digital features such as smoothing and edge enhancement are covered with their direct implications for clinical application. Several sections have been deleted, moved or reorganized to provide smoother transitions and development of the topics, with particular focus on the digital imaging chapters. Material on rescaling the digital image has been greatly strengthened, and new graphs have been added that make histogram analysis and errors mush easier to grasp. The comprehensiveness and detailed presentation of this book will deepen the collective conversation, challenge thinking, and give up-to-date tools that may be used today.
Radiologic Science for Technologists by
Develop the skills you need to safely and effectively produce high-quality medical images with Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 11th Edition. Reorganized and updated with the latest advances in the field, this new edition aligns with the ASRT curriculum to strengthen your understanding of key concepts, and prepare you for success on the ARRT certification exam and in clinical practice. Firmly established as a core resource for medical imaging technology courses, this text gives you a strong foundation in the study and practice of radiologic physics, imaging and exposure, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more. Expanded coverage of radiologic science topics, including radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more, allows this text to be used over several semesters. Chapter introductions, summaries, outlines, objectives, and key terms help you to organize and pinpoint the most important information. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations are highlighted for easy access to frequently used information. "Penguin" boxes recap the most vital chapter information. End-of-chapter questions include definition exercises, matching, short answer, and calculations to help you review material. Key terms and expanded glossary enable you to easily reference and study content. Highlighted math formulas call attention to key mathematical information for special focus. NEW! Chapters on Radiography/Fluoroscopy Patient Radiation Dose and Computed Tomography Patient Radiation Dose equip you to use the most current patient dosing technology. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections ensure you're prepared to take the ARRT exam and succeed in the clinical setting.
The Rules of Radiology by
This book gets to the heart of what radiology is and what radiologists do. As a relatively young speciality, there is no guide for radiologists to act as a moral compass. Until now, that is. You will not find any dry technical matters in here. You will not find any clues about how to interpret images better. This book details the 'other 50%': the rest of the working week when a radiologist is not reading scans or performing procedures. The essence of radiology is distilled and offered up to the reader. If you want a comfortable read that offers bland reassurances, look elsewhere. If you want a book that questions everything and discusses uncomfortable truths, this is the book for you. Each of the Rules addresses an important part of professional practice. This book is a manifesto for all radiologists across the globe to raise their game, to be more effective and to serve their patients better.
Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals by
An ideal resource for the classroom or clinical setting, Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive, and highly visual approach to the sectional anatomy of the entire body. Side-by-side presentations of actual diagnostic images from both MRI and CT modalities and corresponding anatomic line drawings illustrate the planes of anatomy most commonly demonstrated by diagnostic imaging. Easy-to-follow descriptions detail the location and function of the anatomy, while clearly labeled images help you confidently identify anatomic structures during clinical examinations. In all, it's the one reference you need to consistently produce the best possible diagnostic images. Side-by-side presentation of anatomy illustrations and corresponding CT and MRI images clarifies the location and structure of sectional anatomy. More than 1,500 high-quality images and detailed line drawings demonstrate sectional anatomy for every body plane commonly imaged in the clinical setting. Updated summary tables are used to simplify and organize key information in each chapter. CT or MR images of special interest are featured on the opening page in each chapter to pique readers' interest in the area about to be covered in the text. Reference drawings and corresponding scanning planes appear on appropriate pages with the actual images, so they are easily referenced for correlation between the scanning planes and the resulting images. Introductory chapter lays a foundation of the terminology that is related to sectional anatomy. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines. NEW! Additional lymphatic system images give readers a better picture of this nuanced body system. NEW! Additional pathology boxes help readers connect commonly encountered pathologies to related anatomy for greater diagnostic accuracy. NEW! Updated line art familiarizes readers with the latest 3D and vascular imaging technology. NEW! 2-color design makes difficult content easier to digest.
Body Imaging: Thorax and Abdomen by
Body Imaging: Thorax and Abdomen reflects the realities of your everyday work: it describes the principal anatomic landmarks so that you can orient yourself in the chest and abdomen with speed and confidence, interpret the findings, and make a diagnosis. Features: Description of key anatomic landmarks for rapid, confident orientation in the chest and abdomen Precise, step-by-step guide to making the diagnosis Key points summarized in boxes and tables Comprehensive coverage All the modalities in one volume; no need for lengthy lookups in multiple books Focuses on the sectional modalities of CT and MRI, but includes plain radiographs and ultrasound as well Answers to questions such as: Which modality is preferred? How are abnormalities recognized? How is the correct diagnosis derived? Differential diagnosis: What diseases are possible for any given set of symptoms and findings? Richly illustrated More than 1500 superb images drawn from the latest generation of imaging technology, with explanatory diagrams showing details of anatomy and pathology Your radiology workstation in book form-structured, comparative, easy to use
Musculoskeletal Imaging: the Essentials by
Perfect for residents to use during rotations, or as a quick review for practicing radiologists and fellows, Musculoskeletal Imaging: The Essentials is a complete, concise overview of the most important knowledge in this complex field. Each chapter begins with learning objectives and ends with board-style questions that help you focus your learning. A self-assessment examination at the end of the book tests your mastery of the content and prepares you for exams. Follows the proven Essentials Series format to provide a comprehensive yet concise overview of clinical musculoskeletal imaging. Features image-rich, case-based multiple-choice questions with answers that provide self-assessment and mimic what you're likely to see on exams. Emphasizes a conceptual approach to understanding imaging findings of bone, joint, and soft tissue conditions on all modalities used for musculoskeletal imaging. Helps you successfully absorb key ideas and facts through behaviorally based learning objectives that support the most current residency curriculum from the Society of Skeletal Radiology. Puts indispensable information at your fingertips in a compact and practical, high-yield format. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Orthopaedic Imaging: a Practical Approach by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Trusted by both radiologists and orthopaedic surgeons for authoritative, comprehensive guidance on the interpretation of musculoskeletal images, Orthopedic Imaging: A Practical Approach is an ideal resource at every stage of training and practice. The fully revised seventh edition retains the large images, easy-to-read writing style, and careful blend of illustrations and text that clearly depict all relevant imaging modalities and all pathological entities. Helps you interpret a full range of findings with nearly 4,000 high-quality conventional radiography, ultrasound, CT, 3D CT, dual-energy CT, MRI, PET, PET/CT, PET/MRI, and other imaging techniques--1/3 new to this edition. Contains new coverage of sports injuries and cartilage imaging; clinical features and pathologic correlations of many conditions; and up-to-date references. Provides guidance in choosing the best imaging approach for each patient with discussions of each technique's accuracy, speed, and cost. Features informative diagrams and schematics, as well as "Practical Points" summaries at the end of each chapter for quick review. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology by
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology, 9th Edition helps students develop the knowledge and skills they need to become safe, perceptive, and efficient radiologic technologists. The book offers a strong illustration program and a logical organization that emphasizes the connections between classroom learning and clinical practice. Fully aligned with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards, this edition covers current trends and advances in the field and offers an unparalleled array of online teaching and learning resources. eBOOK AVAILABLE. Faster, smarter, and more convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. NEW ALIGNMENT! Full alignment with the latest ARRT and ASRT standards helps prepare students for certification and successful practice. ENHANCED CASE STUDIES! New and updated case studies with critical thinking questions give students practice dealing with the types of real-world situations they will encounter on the job. SITUATIONAL JUDGEMENT SECTIONS: These sections build critical thinking skills by presenting practical situations and asking students to assess them based on what they have learned. NEW CONTENT: The text reflects new and relevant advances in the field, including updates in pediatric, geriatric, trauma, and mobile imaging. CULTURALLY SENSITIVE: Cultural Considerations boxes demonstrate the importance of being aware of the cultural and ethnic backgrounds of patients. STUDENT-FOCUSED: Learning Objectives and Key Terms that orient students to the chapter; Display boxes that highlight accreditation, competency, or skills information; and Call Out and Warning boxes that alert students to important facts and common pitfalls help students prepare for practice.
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography by
Prepare for success on the ARRT certification exam! Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Radiography: The Complete Study Guide & Career Planner, 7th Edition offers a complete, outline-style review of the major subject areas covered on the ARRT exam in radiography. Each review section is followed by a set of questions testing your knowledge of that subject area. Two mock ARRT exams are included in the book, and over 1,400 online review questions may be randomly combined to generate a virtually limitless number of practice exams. From noted radiography educator and lecturer William J. Callaway, this book is also an ideal study guide for the classroom and an expert resource for use in launching your career. Over 2,400 review questions are provided in the book and online, offering practice in a multiple-choice format similar to the ARRT exam. Outline-style review covers the major subject areas covered on the ARRT exam, and helps you focus on the most important information. Coverage of digital imaging reflects the increased emphasis of this topic on the Registry exam. Career planning advice includes examples of resumes and cover letters, interviewing tips, a look at what employers expect, online submission of applications, salary negotiation, career advancement, and continuing education requirements. Online mock exams let you answer more than 1,400 questions in study mode - with immediate feedback after each question, or in exam mode - with feedback only after you complete the entire test. Key Review Points are included in every chapter, highlighting the 'need to know' content for exam and clinical success. Rationales for correct and incorrect answers are included in the appendix. Electronic flashcards are available online, to help you memorize formulas, key terms, and other key information. Online test scores are date-stamped and stored, making it easy to track your progress. UPDATES reflect the latest ARRT exam changes, providing the content that you need to know in order to pass the exam. NEW! Image labeling exercises prepare you for the labeling questions on the ARRT exam. NEW! Colorful design highlights essential information and makes the text easier to read.
Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age by
This Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook itself and the Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise "fill-in-the-blank" format, focusing on key words to reinforce students' retention of the material. The wording and sequencing of questions closely mirrors the PowerPoint Slide series for each course. This Workbook strikes a perfect balance between allowing the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An effective "note-taking" tool, it also doubles as a reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
