History (Jorge Rodriguez): Reference Books

This panoramic volume traces the entire story of the American experience, from the first settlers who arrived in the New World to the latest policy statement from the White House.

Cross-disciplinary source for general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.

Offers insightful essays on the events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to pre-20thcentury
U.S. history, but reviews them in a broader scope of time.

The perfect introduction to the events, objects, issues, places, and concepts that have shaped American history since pre-Columbian times. More than 6,200 articles cover a wide range of military, political, social, and economic subjects, including theater, sports, battles, natural resources, food, education, and government agencies such as the F.B.I., the C.I.A., and the Post Office.

Indispensable and classic reference book that covers the history of the United States from pre-Columbian times through the first year of the Clinton Administration. Unequaled in the amount of information contained within a single volume, and designed to be read as a narrative, the Encyclopedia chronicles all the essential facts of American history, from government and politics to science, thought and culture.

Each volume covers a specific time period, beginning with 15,000 B.C. and extending through 1996. Each article begins with ready-reference information, including year, location, categories, and principal personages. This is followed by a summary of the event, a brief annotated list of suggested readings, and see also references.

"Well written and superior in depth and quality, Milestone Documents of American History is an essential resource for reference collections." Booklist Starred Review -
2009 Booklist Editors' Choice

Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.

Offers students detailed studies of approximately 80 tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. The Encyclopedia gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

This acclaimed set offers students and researchers thorough, objective and systematic essays on the history, culture and current status of all federally recognized Native American groups - approximately 400 in all.

Editors and scholars Kanellos (University of Houston) and Fabregat (University of Barcelona) have assembled a team of outstanding scholars to compile comprehensive studies on all aspects of U.S. Hispanic culture.

Explores the fundamental primary sources in African American history. This four-volume set covers 135 iconic primary documents from the 1600's to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context.

Definitive reference work on the Native Peoples of the Americas. While Native Peoples remain citizens of their respective states, they are also members of a wider Native Peoples community stretching from the Arctic region in the north to Antarctic region in the south. The Second Edition contains additions, improvements, and updates to the first edition.

Contains biographical data on an imposing roster of historical and contemporary personalities in the African American community. Historical narratives, statistical tables and graphs present in great detail nearly 500 years of history.

Detailed look at Hispanic America from the earlist migration to the prominent citizens of today. The four-volume set is stocked with photographs and biographical sketches of the people who have aided in the progress of Hispanics in America, as well as extensive descriptions of Hispanic culture.

This unique four-volume set explains how mobilization for war and wars themselves have altered the fabric of everyday life. Written by scholars in the fields of history, literature and the arts, sociology, law, political science and psychology, the encyclopedia places major American conflicts.

Surveys key documents produced during the Civil War with special attention devoted to the war-time policies of President Abraham Lincoln and the 37th US Congress. A special feature of the volumes is the inclusion of letters and diaries by soldiers and civilians writing about their experiences.

Comprehensive, well-organized reference source on the human rights and civil liberties that are legally recognized in the United States. Presented in three volumes, the 677 entries address civil rights issues from a variety of perspectives, such as race, gender, age, medical status or conditions, physical and mental challenges, group membership, religion, and many others.

Offering biographies, articles on the history of the entire range of Westward Expansion topics and overview entries on complex topics, the Encyclopedia examines events, organizations and social customs that shaped the American West.

From blitzkrieg and blackout to ghettos and Guadalcanal, World War II was a conflict that touched all nations and penetrated all aspects of people's lives. With over 1,750 A-Z entries, by more than 140 specialist contributors from Germany, Italy, and Japan, as well as from the Allied nations, the Companion provides uniquely worldwide coverage of the war.

The New Handbook of Texas presents the efforts of more than 3,000 authors, editors, and reviewers. You'll find 23,500 articles covering the history of Texas from A to Z. There are detailed histories of all 254 counties and of major cities. Thousands of other entries highlight communities, key events, geographical features, historical sites, institutions, and organizations.