Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

GOVT 2305/2306 - Letter to Congressperson (James Stepp): Home

How to research an issue important to you, identify your federal or state representative, and write them an article urging action for or against a current bill.

Purpose of This Guide

  • Show steps and strategies to gather information for a letter to your congressional member on a topic important to you.
  • Identify your federal or state member of congress
  • Determine current state or federal bills for consideration

Who Represents You?

Search this state website with your address to find your representatives in state and federal government.

Picking a Topic

Suggestions for topics:  Abortion bans, gun safety/firearms/AR-15, minimum wage, immigration reform, opioids/fentanyl, election integrity, universal health care...

Off Campus Access

​Login when you are off campus by using your my.epcc.edu account and password.  You can move from database to database and stay logged in.

In EDS (Ebsco Discovery Service) click on the words “hello guest” in the green bar at the top of the page.  Login with your EPCC network username and password.

Tools for Citing and Evaluating Bias

Controversial

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints -- [Full Text | Gale]  

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com

Credo Reference -- [Full text | Credo] 

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and hundreds of videos.
https://search.credoreference.com

Opposing Viewpoints Database Search steps

Use Opposing Viewpoints database to find a recent event that interests you. 

  • Click on BROWSE ISSUES
  • Use pull down to choose the topic: LAW AND POLITICS. 
  • Choose an issue of interest  and explore the OVERVIEW and then the various types of articles including VIEWPOINTS, Academic journals, news, etc. 
  • FILTER your results (right hand side) if needed. The "search within" button searches the full text of selected articles. Useful if you want to look at Texas implications (for example)

As you find information, jot down KEY TERMS that describe your topic to use in searches in other places.

SAVE or EMAIL or PRINT article with citation in style specified by your instructor. Note citation is at the bottom of the articles.

 

EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) allows you to search multiple databases and the Library Catalog from a single search box. Results may include articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals; books; and e-books.

Search for books, articles, DVDs & more...

General Search Steps for EDS and other databases.

KEYWORD SEARCH your topic.  

REFINE YOUR SEARCH - click on a subject/descriptor that fits to redo your search. This narrows down the list.

FURTHER REFINE - choose type of source,  or Georgraphy choose United States, etc. 

SORT by relevance or newest, whichever is pertinent. 

CHECK VIEWPOINT -- google name/organization or review other articles in the issue, or use MEDIA BIAS FACT CHECK (see Tools for Citing and Evaluating Sources Box)

SAVE or EMAIL or PRINT article with citation in MLA style.  Optional: use Noodle Tools link below to save your citations and print bibliographies

Voting Guide

Want to learn how to register to vote and how the voting process works?  Click on this link: 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Murphree (NW)
she, her
Contact:
Northwest Library
(915) 831-8840
Website
Subjects: Border History
EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem