Controversial Issues & Hot Topics
Credo Reference [Full text | Credo]
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints [Full text | Gale]
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
General Databases
Academic Search Complete [Full Text | Ebsco]
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 7,000 full text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications. The database features a majority of native (searchable) PDF content, some dating as far back as 1887.
Newspaper & Texas Databases
El Paso Times through the El Paso Herald-Post/El Paso Times Newspapers Archive [Full text | ProQuest]
Complete full text content of local and regional news since 1881. (Includes paid advertisements and has images.)
Newspaper Source Plus [Full text | Ebsco]
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.
Texas Reference Center [Full text | Ebsco]
Provides full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals, some back as far as 1975. Covers general reference topics, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. Features book reviews, nearly 500 full text reference books, biographies, 83,472 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Online databases are available 24 hours a day.
Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on "Off Campus Access" next to any of the database names.
Remember, what you see on the left is only a selection of databases shown or discussed during the MDP Library presentation. For the full list of databases, click on the link below
