Speech 1315 - Public Speaking (Laura Erickson Alvarado): Local Resources

The purpose of the Center is to enhance the quality of life for El Pasoans and others by collecting, preserving, and making available information about the history and culture of the residents of El Paso, Cuidad Juarez, and the surrounding region.

As part of the effort to document the unique cultural environment of the El Paso area, the UTEP Library’s C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department collects the work of nineteenth- and twentieth-century El Paso photographers. The images included in the holdings consist predominantly of original photographs in the form of negatives, prints, and positive transparencies.

DIGIE stands for Digital Information Gateway In El Paso. It's a vast collection of images and videos exploring El Paso’s past and present. The collection of images can be browsed on this website. Most importantly, you can upload your own collection of images telling your own life story or your family history for all to share.

Made available by the Library of Congres. The Herald began as a four-page weekly. Although briefly published daily as the El Paso Herald, the paper retained its weekly format for several years, becoming the Sunday Herald in 1884; a daily edition was added in 1888. The Herald circulated throughout West Texas and Northern Mexico. A true border publication, the paper printed advertisements from businesses in El Paso del Norte (now Ciudad Juárez), some of which ran in Spanish

Made available through "The Portal to Texas History" Project. The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.

Made available through "The Portal to Texas History" Project. The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.

A collection of student written articles on the history and culture of the El Paso, Juárez, Las Cruces border region, comprising the states of Texas, New Mexico, and the Mexican state of Chihuahua.

This LibGuide will help you "Learn about the Community as a CommUNITY" through the use of the EPCC Libraries or other community resources.

The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media.

The Mission Library has the print issues of this quarterly dating back to the Spring of 1975, Vol. 20, Issue 1. Request issues at the Circulation Desk.
Featured have been hundreds of articles on El Paso and Southwestern history by historians, researchers, educators, authors and many descendents of pioneers relating their family histories.

The C. L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department is located on the sixth floor. The book collections include the Chicano Collection, the Judaica Collection, the S. L. A. Marshall Military History Collection, the Southwest and Border Studies Collection, as well as collections of art and rare books.