Government 2305 - American Government - Fynquist: Reference Books

Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties. A complete A-to-Z reference, this intelligent and objective guide covers the people, events, and terms involved in the electoral process. Coverage also includes the history of elections in the United States, focusing primarily on the presidential elections. Helpful features such as engaging black-and-white photographs and illustrations, detailed appendixes, and an index make this concise reference browsable and accessible to the general reader. Entries include: Absentee voting; Blue states; Campaign ethics; Dark-horse candidate; Dirty campaign tricks; Election fraud; Electoral College; Fundraising; Internet voting; League of Women Voters; Lincoln-Douglas debates; Machine politics; Populist Party; Recall; Republican Party; Super Tuesday; Voter turnout; and, Wedge issues.

This dynamic, two-volume reference work covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. Over 350 information-packed entries explore the people, crimes, investigations and court cases behind 200 years of political scandals.

This bestselling dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, andschools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.Fully updated for its fourth edition, the dictionary has had its coverage of international relations heavily revised and expanded, reflected in its title change, and it includes a wealth of new material in areas such as international institutions, peace building, human security, security studies,global governance, and open economy politics. It also incorporates recommended web links that can be accessed via a regularly checked and updated companion website, ensuring that the links remain relevant.The dictionary is international in its coverage and will prove invaluable to students and academics studying politics and related disciplines, as well as politicians, journalists, and the general reader seeking clarification of political terms.

1. Political Ideas. 2. The United States Constitution and the Federal Union. 3. Parties, Politics, Interest Groups, and Elections. 4. The Legislative Process: Congress and the State Legislatures. 5. The Executive: Office and Powers. 6. Public Administration: Organization and Personnel. 7. The Judicial Process: Courts and Law Enforcement. 8. Civil Liberties, Civil Rights, Immigration, and Citizenship. 9. Finance and Taxation. 10. Business and Labor. 11. Agriculture, Energy, and Environment. 12. Health, Education, and Welfare. 13. Foreign Policy and National Defense. 14. State and Local Government. 15. Constitution of the United States.

The 2018 Almanac of American Politics remains the gold standard of accessible political information, relied on by everyone involved, invested or interested in politics in America. Highly regarded for its in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress, The Almanac is the tool you need to better understand the context of the people and perspectives shaping the issues that matter to you.The Almanac of American Politics is the must have resource for understanding the American political landscape. The 2018 edition includes:#65533;In-depth profiles of every governor, Senator, and House member.#65533;Updated demographic information for every state and district, including information from the Census Bureau's American Community Survey, with new categories of economic, occupational, social and geographic data.#65533;Analysis of the 2016 elections for Senate, House and governor races, and how those results shape the public policy debates in Congress and the nation.#65533;A breakdown of the votes cast for President in 2016 for all states and districts, including primaries.#65533;All new: Presidential profile on president elect Donald Trump.#65533;All new: Campaign finance data on spending by all Senate and House members in their most recent election, including all-new listings of the "outside money" spent in those contests.#65533;All new: Analysis of voter turnout in each state and congressional district for the 2016 presidential elections.#65533;More than 60 state and congressional district maps, the key votes cast by members of the House and Senate, interest group ratings, and more.Essential reference and contact information.