Skip to Main Content
El Paso Community College
Library Research Guides

Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards at Northwest Library: Media & Lecture Awards

This guide features books in the EPCC Northwest Library Jenna Welch and Laura Bush Community Library

ALA 2020 Youth Media Awards Presentation

2020 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award

The May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture is an annual event sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association.  The lecturer may be an "author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children's literature, of any country". At the same time, the lecturer "shall prepare a paper considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children's literature", to be delivered as the Arbuthnot Lecture and to be published in the ALSC journal Children & Libraries

National Museum of American History

Odyssey Award

This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Sadie, 2019 Odyssey Award Audiobook, produced by Macmillan Audio from Wednesday Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, written by Courtney Summers, narrated by Rebecca Soler, Fred Berman, Dan Bittner, Gabra Zackman, and more. 

Part true crime podcast part revenge road trip, Sadie is the story of a young girl as she seeks vengeance for her sister’s murder. The full ensemble cast brings together more than thirty voices, with Rebecca Soler authentically capturing Sadie’s stutter and angry, tortured emotions while Dan Bittner gives voice to radio journalist West McCray as he tries to piece together what has happened to Sadie.

Sadie is the epitome of what an audiobook can do, elevating it to a whole new level. The two formats woven together should not be missed,” said Odyssey Award Committee Chair Stephanie R. Charlefour.

Du Iz Tak? by Carson Ellis

Du Iz Tak2019 Odyssey Honor Audiobook, produced by Weston Woods Studios, a division of Scholastic, written by Carson Ellis, and narrated by Eli and Sebastian D’Amico, Burton, Galen and Laura Fott, Sarah Hart, Bella Higginbotham, Evelyn Hipp and Brian Hull.

Adorable children’s voices and music brilliantly enhance this unique story of backyard insects who communicate in their own language. This production helps listeners decipher the plot while sound effects and evocative music spark the imagination. An original song written for this production is a wonderfully “scrivadelly” bonus.

Early Learning Digital Media Award

The inaugural Excellence in Early Learning Digital Media Award is being given in 2019 to a digital media producer that has created distinguished digital media for an early learning audience.

The 2019 in Early Learning Digital Media Award winner is Play and Learn Science, produced by PBS Kids.

The committee selected two honor recipients including Coral Reef, produced by Tinybop Inc., and Lexi’s World, produced by Pop Pop Pop LLC.

Alex Awards for Youth Media

EPCC Web site || EPCC Libraries Web Site || EPCC Library Catalog
Report a problem