RNSG 1327: Transition to Professional Nursing: Articles/Databases

When you are ready to search for journal articles , go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/services/libraries

1. Click on "Online Databases" (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your topic: Nursing
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (You will be asked to enter myepcc login and password.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.
11. Most databases also have a place to click to get the article citation in APA format.

Online Nursing/Medical/Health Journals

Provides access to online nursing and allied health journal subscriptions. If you experience any problems please call 831-4458 or the reference desk at 831-4019.

Ovid Nursing Community College Extended Journal Collection

This database contains 49 active journal titles with Full Text to the present on all titles. Journals that help meet student and instructor needs at 2-year nursing programs.

CINAHL Complete

CINAHL®Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

Health Research Premium Collection

In the medical field, access to the latest health care information is always essential, whether it's for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even for patients and their families. This database addresses these diverse needs by offering a central access point to a variety of essential content. Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations, and includes the top ProQuest health and medical databases.

PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 34 million citations. PubMed includes links to many sites providing free full text articles and other related resources.

You may find that a database only provides a citation but not the full-text article.  To find out if we have access to the journal that published the article, you can enter the search terms in the Tejano Library Search box.

It will come up with the journal title if we own it.  You will just click on "Access Journal" and then select the option that has the dates you need. Click on "Access Journal"

MICROMEDEX (Does not provide articles. Provides evidence based summaries)

A wide range of clinical databases which include unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Information includes: CareNotes™ System (patient care); Formulary Advisor™, the PDR® Electronic Library and Red Book Online (pharmacy).
Drug Apps available for download to your phone.