KINESIOLOGY: Reference Books

Based on reports from 19th century explorers, museum artifacts, and other historical documents, the rules, equipment, and diagrams as they are currently understood are provided here for readers, along with suggestions for adapting these sports and games for modern times. Sports enthusiasts and students will find this volume a valuable resource for discovering the earliest beginnings of our modern-day sports. Divided according to seven geopolitical regions of the world, "Sports and Games of the Ancients" describes the sports, games, and play of our earliest ancestors. Their need for survival in often hostile conditions enable them to develop skills such as long distance running or archery, and these skills were then practiced in friendly competitions that evolved into our modern-day marathons and Olympic events. Covering such games as Africa's mancala and senet, the martial arts of Asia, the log run and Tejo of Latin America, and the boomerang and surfing of Oceania, this volume provides a solid picture of the sports and games of our ancient ancestors.

"This set offers a fascinating look at how Americans spend their free time and entertain themselves. A total of 271 essays present chiefly historical perspectives in the fields of American and cultural studies, sociology, recreation, sports, and leisure studies. Entries cover all facets of American leisure with topics ranging from auctions and blood sports to shopping malls and theme parks. Articles range in length between two and six pages and include brief bibliographies."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.

America loves sports. This book examines and details the proof of this fascination seen throughout American society in our literature, film, and music; our clothing and food; and the iconography of the nation.

This multivolume set is much more than a collection of essays on sports and sporting cultures from around the world: it also details how and why sports are played wherever they exist, and examines key charismatic athletes from around the world who have transcended their sports. * Nearly 900 entries cover most aspects of sport from around the world * Contributions from more than 200 distinguished scholars, such as Mark Dyreson, Henning Eichberg, Malcolm MacLean, S.W. Pope, and Rob Ruck * Entries on players, stadiums, arenas, famous games and matches, major scandals, and disasters * Lists of Olympic medalists for all events since 1896 as well as lists of winners of major events such as the FIFA World Cup and MLB World Series * Further reading selections provide direction for in-depth analysis of each event, sport, personality, or issue discussed

Sports Studies is a fast-growing academic discipline, with programs across the country. The brand new Dictionary of Sports Studies contains over 1,100 clear, concise, and authoritative entries compiled by Alan Tomlinson, a leading expert in the field. Wide-ranging coverage includes the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well as entries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy. It also features biographies of key sports people, information on international organizations and institutions, and detailed appendices with lists of sporting events and winners, including the Summer and Winter Olympic Games. In addition, there are recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Sports Studies companion website. Addressing the need for a reliable reference guide in this burgeoning field, this dictionary is essential reading for students of sports studies and the related disciplines of leisure and recreation studies, sports science, and physical education. It is also ideal for the general reader with an interest in sport.

Provides updated information about the numerous physical and emotional benefits of exercise and explores the relationship between nutrition, physical activity, and athletic performance.

Competitive sports demand as much discipline and training of the mind as they do of the body. Sport psychologists, coaches, and athletes are constantly searching for new and effective approaches to pain management, exercise psychology, building self confidence, and measuring progress.

Debates and conflicts related to sports.

A Companion to Sport brings together writing by leading sports theorists and social and cultural thinkers, to explore sport as a central element of contemporary culture. Positions sport as a crucial subject for critical analysis, as one of the most significant forms of popular culture Includes both well-known social and cultural theorists whose work lends itself to an interrogation of sport, and leading theorists of sport itself. Offers a comprehensive examination of sport as a social and cultural practice and institution. Explores sport in relation to modernity, postcolonial theory, gender, violence, race, disability and politics

Now in its 3rd edition, this completely revised medical textbook continues its focus on just the core information you need for your anatomy courses, presenting everything in an easy-to-read, visually appealing format that facilitates study. Easily locate and remember specific structures. More than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators. Understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Expedite the review of basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Stay current with many new "In the Clinic" boxes, which offer access to in-depth clinical discussions related to specific diseases or procedures. Improve your comprehension of cranial nerves with help from a brand-new visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function.

This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader. * Features over 150 pictures, anatomical drawings, tables, and diagrams * Provides entertaining sidebars and interesting facts throughout the encyclopedia * Contains a bibliography and index to aid in study * The comprehensive glossary contains more than 600 terms used in the text

Provides basic health information about sports injuries in various parts of the body, protective equipment and preventive measures, treatment options, and a special section on sports injuries in children and teens. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.