The Fundamentals of SURGICAL INSTRUMENTS by
This book provides a sound introduction to surgical instrumentation, including their recognition, use and care. It provides useful information that is essential for operating department practitioners, nurses, scrub practitioners, surgeons under training, surgical technologists, junior doctors and medical students.
The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite by
Surgical services carry some of the highest risks and rewards of all healthcare specialties. They also present specific challenges. Those unfamiliar with the surgical suite's inner workings may struggle to lead and manage this complex and often isolated department. The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite: A Roadmap to the OR and Perioperative Services provides experienced and novice healthcare leaders with the information, leadership structures, and practical strategies needed to successfully oversee both patient outcomes and balance sheets. This book covers contemporary market realities, business challenges, labor requirements, and clinical and operational complexities as it points leaders toward the most pressing issues in strategic surgical services leadership. Inside you'll find: A comprehensive overview of the competitive landscape and unique market forces, Effective governance and leadership structures, A snared, interdisciplinary decision-making model, Insights on creating accurate budgets and monitoring complicated revenue and expenses Book jacket.
The Orthopaedic Manual Office by
From the office to the operating room to the emergency department, this practical, pocket-sized guide is an essential guide for advanced practice providers of orthopaedic care. Filling an important resource gap for the orthopaedic team, this manual focuses on the aspects of musculoskeletal care that an advanced care practitioner will commonly provide in daily practice. It clearly covers the specific skills and knowledge that enable physician assistants and nurse practitioners to provide high-quality, cost-effective care, with the goal of restoring each patient to maximum functional capacity and quality of life. Features: Offers concise coverage of topics essential to advanced care practitioners, including a wide variety of musculoskeletal conditions, procedures, and paperwork references required in today's health care. Covers the role of the advanced practice provider, evaluation of new patients, orthopaedic surgical patients, operative management, nonoperative conditions, administrative services, office procedures, and more. Includes tips and tricks of the trade useful for all advanced care practitioners. Ideal for use in any practice setting, as well as for the nonphysician health care provider who attends to patients presenting to the emergency department with acute traumatic musculoskeletal complaints. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures by 
Endoscopic Spine Surgery by
Endoscopic technology has advanced to the point where practitioners can now access, visualize, and treat spine pathologies previously only accessible through open surgical approaches. Endoscopic Spine Surgery 2nd Edition provides a comprehensive background on endoscopic spine surgery and covers an unparalleled number of minimally invasive spine procedures that have revolutionized the spine treatment paradigm. Readers will greatly benefit from many years of expertise and wisdom shared by master spine surgeons Daniel Kim, Gun Choi, Sang-Ho Lee, and Richard Fessler, and their expert contributors. Due to the narrow endoscopic view, subtle microanatomical differences in the lumbar, thoracic, and cervical regions are not always easy to visually discern. To address this challenge, the book contains detailed procedural descriptions and images mirroring endoscopic views spine surgeons encounter in the OR. Organized anatomically, 53 chapters guide readers systematically through lumbar, thoracic, cervical, and craniocervical junction procedures for pathologies ranging from low back pain and deformities to tumors, lesions, infections, and trauma. Key Features More than 1000 high quality images including color procedural photographs and medical illustrations provide in-depth visual understanding. Spinal pathologies and procedures delineated in 75 videos accessible via the Media Center - from case studies to step-by-step technique tutorials. Covers the full spectrum of spine endoscopy including percutaneous approaches, microdiscectomy, laminectomy, discectomy foraminotomy, hemilaminectomy, thoracic decompressions, fusion, fixation, and thoracoscopic procedures. The use of state-of-the-art technology such as ultrasonic bone dissectors, endoscopic radiofrequency denervation, the video telescope operating monitor (VITOM), minimally invasive tubular retractors, and 3D stereo-tubular endoscopic systems. Neurosurgical and orthopaedic residents, spine fellows, and seasoned spine surgeons will all greatly benefit from the significant knowledge and insights revealed in this remarkable multimedia resource. This book may also be of interest to neurosurgical and orthopaedic nurses, physical therapists, chiropractors, and medical device professionals.
Foot and Ankle Surgery by
A concise, insightful guide to foot and ankle surgeries from master orthopaedic foot and ankle surgeon Steven Raikin Foot and ankle problems such as injuries, arthritis, congenital and acquired deformities, tendenopathies, heel pain, and nerve damage account for a large percentage of orthopaedic conditions. A better understanding of the biomechanics of the foot and ankle and improved outcome research have led to considerable advances in foot surgery techniques, superior results, and improved functional outcomes. Foot and Ankle Surgery: Tricks of the Trade by renowned foot and ankle specialist Steven Raikin and experts from 12 countries, presents step-by-step guidance on the latest foot and ankle surgery procedures. Each succinct, consistently organized chapter takes the reader from patient assessment, diagnostic evaluations and patient selection to surgical planning and positioning, the procedure itself, how to handle complications, postoperative management, and the authors' pearls and surgical tips. The book is divided into forefoot, midfoot, hindfoot, nerve, and ankle pathologies, encompassing commonly performed reconstructive and traumatic procedures. Different techniques are discussed for similar pathologies, such as open and arthroscopic lateral ankle ligament reconstruction, and augmentation options utilizing tendon allograft or an internal brace. Key Features Discussion of six different total ankle replacement systems, many written by designers of the systems themselves, affords unique insights A full spectrum of techniques to correct plantar plate tears, hallux valgus, tarsal tunnel syndrome, drop-foot, midfoot arthritis and deformity, tibial tendon dysfunction, Achilles rupture, osteochondral lesions of the talus, ankle fractures, and more Tricks and pearls for optimizing procedural performance, managing hazards and pitfalls, and preventing or resolving intraoperative complications A mix of 500 high quality artist illustrations and intraoperative photographs delineate anatomy and procedures This highly practical book provides a robust teaching tool for orthopaedic procedures of the foot and ankle. Orthopaedic residents, foot and ankle surgeons, and podiatrists will benefit from clinical pearls and tips from top experts who made major significant contributions to this subspecialty.
Hernia Surgery by
All the latest trends and technical innovations for both routine and complex hernia repair Surgical procedures to repair hernias are among the most common procedures of all, with a history going back over 200 years. While most procedures are routine, they can be a challenge, particularly when previous surgery in the area has caused scarring that distorts the anatomy. All currently established operative techniques are described and explained in detail in the book and illustrated, step by step, with a wealth of brilliant figures and diagrams. A detailed description of laparoscopic anatomy and preperitoneal procedures is given. Important information regarding indications and postoperative care is provided. New surgical treatment concepts for hernia arising in the early 21st century and expounded in this book include tension-free principles, inguinal hernia repair under local anesthesia, use of the preperitoneal space, and laparoscopic hernia repair. Key Features 3D mesh and patch-and-plug procedures Laparoscopic methods such as the single-port technique and mini-technique New developments in open and laparoscopic surgery of incisional hernias Special disorders such as sports hernia Richly illustrated with hundreds of exquisite artist renderings Ideal for all surgeons in training, and of benefit to experienced surgeons as well, Schumpelick's Hernia Surgery is a complete introduction to evidence-based techniques in this field. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Key Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery by
Key Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery, 2nd Edition, by Steven Stern, Matthew Saltzman, and Christopher Bono provides a fully updated, easy-to-follow orthopaedics reference. The book encompasses a full spectrum of core orthopaedic procedures impacting pediatric to adult patients. Unlike dense orthopaedic tomes, the straightforward, streamlined approach makes this reference the ideal operating room companion. For each of the 60 procedures, the authors include numbered, step-by-step guidance. This is augmented with more than 300 high-quality black and white line drawings illustrating techniques. In addition to consistently formatted surgery procedures, each chapter includes indications; contraindications; preoperative preparation; special instruments, position, and anesthesia; clinical tips and pearls; pitfalls to avoid; postoperative care issues; and suggested reading. From the foot and ankle to the cervical spine, procedures cover a wide range of acquired and degenerative conditions. Key Features Open and arthroscopic shoulder approaches including rotator cuff repair, Latarjet, Bankart, hemiarthroplasty/reverse shoulder arthroplasty for proximal humerus fractures, and total shoulder arthroplasty Management of arm, elbow, and hand conditions including compartment syndrome of the forearm, carpal tunnel syndrome, olecranon and radial head/neck fractures, thumb metacarpal fractures, and distal radius fractures Essential techniques for treating hip fractures, hybrid and uncemented total hip arthroscopy, hemiarthroplasty,and pediatric hip aspiration Core knee and leg procedures including ACL repair, total and medial unicompartmental knee arthroplasty, and repair of tibial shaft, femoral shaft, and patella fractures The use of pedicle screws, fusions, decompression, disc arthroplasty, discectomy, and vertebrectomy, for cervical and lumbar spine pathologies The succinct, reader-friendly format emphasizes technique and is designed to allow readers to quickly review and absorb salient procedural steps. Orthopaedic residents and surgeons alike will benefit from this must-have rounds and OR resource.
Surgery of the Thoracic Spine by
The definitive guide to thoracic spine pathologies and state-of-the-art surgical approaches Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by renowned spine surgeons Ali Baaj, Kumar Kakarla, and Han Jo Kim fills a gap in the literature, with content focused solely on pathologies and surgical techniques of the thoracic spine and vertebral column. Starting with a thoughtful discussion on the uniqueness of the thoracic region as it relates to pulmonary function, the richly illustrated textbook covers a full spectrum of topics from biomechanics and anesthetic considerations to neuromonitoring and neuronavigation. With contributions from a cadre of distinguished experts, the book encompasses pathophysiology, surgical techniques, and reconstructive strategies for common degenerative, congenital, oncologic, and traumatic diseases of the thoracic spine. Dedicated chapters cover treatment options for different types of scoliosis, Scheuermann kyphosis, proximal junctional deformity, and posttraumatic deformity. Key Features Treatment of common degenerative conditions including stenosis and disc herniations Management of less common inflammatory and infectious spinal diseases such as spondylarthropathies, osteomyelitis, discitis, and fungal and tubercular infections Oncologic topics including primary, intradural extramedullary, and intramedullary spinal cord tumors and thoracic spine metastases Surgical treatment of pediatric and adult deformities including congenital, idiopathic, and degenerative scoliosis Classification of thoracic spinal fractures, discussion of complete and incomplete thoracic spinal cord injuries, posterior and ventral treatment of thoracic spine fractures, and osteoporotic compression fractures This is an invaluable evaluation and management tool for neurosurgical and orthopaedic residents and practicing spine surgeons who treat patients with common to complex thoracic spinal pathologies. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Whatever your goal, Learning Express Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. MUST create a new account.
Career Center Plus > Prepare for Allied Health and Social Worker Exams > Prepare for Surgical Technologist Certification
