El Paso Community College Databases Related to Philosophy 2306:
Please access the various databases to supplement your research on your career topic. These databases provide you access to additional newspapers, eBooks, peer-reviewed publications, images, reference sources, and other information resource types. Please ensure you know your credentials (email & password) as they will be required to submit for access to online databases. Databases are great resources to use since they have strong, reliable, resources.
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and hundreds of videos.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints-
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals - of which 470 are peer-reviewed - dating as far back as 1984.
Religion & Philosophy Collection-
Provides extensive coverage of topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Includes more than 300 full text journals, of which more than 250 are peer-reviewed titles.
When prompted, ensure you are logged into the databases with your EPCC email and password.
Searching with academic databases are much different than google! Remember, you must use key terms and subjects. On Google, if you are researching controversial material in a career field, you may be able to type in "What are some controversial issues police officers face." In our databases, though, please use terms. The following examples below are Boolean Searches that can be used by your academic databases.
"Police Officers" AND Brutality
"Police Officers" AND Profiling
"Police Officers" AND Training AND Profiling
EBSCO provides additional instructions on how to perform searches with Boolean search operators.
