EDUC 1300: Library Basics: Articles/Online Databases

Subject: Reference (Good for Background and Introductory Material)

Credo Reference

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos

Subject: Controversial

Opposing Viewpoints in Context 

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources.

Subject: General

Academic Search Complete

This database provides access to more than 13,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

Academic OneFile 

Provides indexing to more than 13,000 titles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, arts, theology, literature, engineering, business and other subjects beginning in 1980.  Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 7,300 academic journals and reference sources with more than 5,000 full-text.

Subject: Newspapers

El Paso Times -- [Full Text | NewsBank] 

News coverage includes El Paso Times  from the current day back to 1999.

Access World News 

A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
http://iw.newsbank.com/

NexisUni

This database provides access to more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources —including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. 

Last updated:  October 6, 2020

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access.  Just click on the database names.  Enter your MyEPCC login information.

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/services/libraries

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your topic: Controversial, General, Newspaper, or Subject of your topic ex. Health & Medicine or Science & Technology.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (You will be asked to enter your MyEPCC login.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or download and save the article.
11. You can also click on cite to get the MLA or APA citation for the article. Since it is computer generated, make sure the formatting is correct.