This is the "History Resources for El Paso, TX and surrounding areas" page of the "ENGL 1301 - Mr. Yarbrough" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 1301 - Mr. Yarbrough   Tags: border, border history, borderlands, citation tools, el paso, texas, u.s. mexico border  

Last Updated: Jul 27, 2017 URL: http://epcc.libguides.com/engl1301-yarbrough Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

History Resources for El Paso, TX and surrounding areas Print Page
  Search: 
 

Border Heritage Center @ Main Library

Located in the Main Library of the El Paso Public Library (downtown)

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS include Otis A. Aultman collection of photos, historical documents, school yearbooks, and online headlines/obituary index.  Most hyperlinks do not work but collections are available at the public library.

VERTICAL FILE (collections of newspaper articles, brochures, photos etc.) on people, businesses, topics

NEWSPAPER CARD INDEX (indexes articles in El Paso's major newspapers before the 1990s:  El Paso Herald Post and El Paso Times). The newspaper articles will be on microfilm, separate drawers for each newspaper and you'll have to find the reel for your date, thread it through the machine and print out the articles.

For more information please call 915-543-5440.

      

    Other Special Libraries in El Paso

    UTEP LIBRARY: On the 6th floor of the UTEP Library, this department has a wealth of local history: papers, photographs, manuscripts, maps, etc. Detailed descriptions of the special collections that have been processed are online  searchable.

    El Paso Historical Society Archives contain DIFFERENT sources from Password! (Be flexible in how you search).

        

      Texas Reference Center and Local Websites

      EPCC LIBRARY CATALOG

      El Paso Times Newspaper

      News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999. EPCC online database.

      Texas Reference Center 

      This EPCC online database indexes the Texas Monthly, Texas Observer and the publications of the Texas Folklore Society among other periodicals pertaining to all things Texas.

      New Handbook of Texas Online 

      The Mission Library owns the print version of this resource in the Reference collection, call # REF F 384.N8 1996

      El Paso Mission Trail information

      Information about the Mission Trail and it's basic history.

      Ysleta del Sur Pueblo

      Ysleta del Sur Pueblo homepage includes, history, events, and news.

      Texas Observer

      The Mission Library subscribes to the print version of this publication.

      EPCC's Borderlands LibGuide

      This libguide, compiled by Rachel Murphee, is a collection of past editions of a publication called Borderlands. This periodical is comprised of articles about the history and culture of our local area. The contributors to Borderlands are primarily EPCC students.

      Password Alphabetical Index

      The Mission Library has the print issues of this quarterly dating back to the Spring of 1975, Vol. 20, Issue 1. Featured have been hundreds of articles on El Paso and Southwestern history by historians, researchers, educators, authors and many descendents of pioneers relating their family histories.

      Digital Archives

      Mission del Paso Campus Librarian

      Profile Image
      Olga Sanchez
      Contact Info
      Mission del Paso Library
      C-102, 915-831-7040
      Send Email

      MLA CITATION STYLE GUIDE LINK

      MLA Style Guide from Purdue University's OWL:

      http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/section/2/11/

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip