KeywordSubjectAuthorTitle
This is the "Home" page of the "Sign Language Interpretation (SLNG) 1317- Jennifer Dahlgren-Richardson" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sign Language Interpretation (SLNG) 1317- Jennifer Dahlgren-Richardson  

Basic step-by-step guide on how to navigate through online databases to search for online journal, magazine and newspaper articles - Reference Books - Online Catalog for book searches - Other online resources and websites - Citing - Grammar & Usage
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2017 URL: http://epcc.libguides.com/content.php?pid=711790 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome students to El Paso Community College Databases Libguide for Jennifer Dahlgren-Richardson, Sign Language Interpreter Instructor.

Here you will be guided through a step-by-step process to access online scholarly articles in journals, magazines and newspapers. It is a starting point for subject research.

In addition to the step-by-step process, you may search for other online and print sources that are available at the library using the tabs on this libguide.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact Caty Piñón, Valle Verde Librarian, at (915)831-2172. Click on the tabs above to get started.

 

Step-by-Step Online Basic Database Search Process



STEP 1



STEP 2

  • Click on DATABASE COLLECTIONS



STEP 3

  • Click on EBSCOHOST DATABASES

*If you are off-campus, click on OFF-CAMPUS LINK to gain access



STEP 4

  • CLICK on Ebscohost Web - All Databases



STEP 5

  • Check on ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE and click CONTINUE 


STEP 6

  • Choose THREE search terms and type them in the individual boxes
  • Once you have selected your THREE terms, you will need to LIMIT your results by checking off boxes in the following categories:
  1. FULL TEXT
  2. SCHOLARLY (PEER REVIEWED) JOURNAL
  3. LANGUAGE




STEP 7

  • Go back to the top and click SEARCH 

     


STEP 8

  • For practice follow steps 1-8 using the following information:

Three search terms:

  1. SIGN LANGUAGE
  2. LANGUAGE DEVELOPMENT
  3. CHILDREN

Limiters used:

  1. FULL TEXT
  2. SCHOLARLY (PEER REVIEWED) JOURNALS
  3. LANGUAGE - ENGLISH

THIS IS AN IMAGE OF THE RESULTS PAGE YOU WOULD SEE USING THE SEARCH TERMS & LIMITERS LISTED ABOVE.


STEP 9

  • Click the BLUE TITLE of the abstract you want to read
  • Read the abstract and if you decide you want to read the whole article click on PDF FULL TEXT

END OF STEP-BY-STEP ONLINE DATABASE SEARCH PROCESS

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip