Nutrition - HECO1322: eBooks

eBooks are electronic books that can be read online.

To search for eBooks on your topic, go to the library webpage: www.epcc.edu/library

1. Click on "eBook Collection."
2. There are 4 different ebook collections to choose from.
3. Search the EBSCO eBook Collections.  Click on eBook Academic Collection > Other Databases > eBook Collection > OK  
4. The eBook search page will open. There are several search boxes to limit the search and make it more specific.
5. Enter your search terms in the search box (EX. nutrition)  then click on the pull-down arrow next to "Select a Field."
6. Select the type of search you are using. (Hint: If you are searching by keyword, just leave the "Select a Field" box alone or you can select "Text.")
7. Scroll down the page and check mark the "Full Text" box. This means you will only get books that have the full-text available online.
8. Click on "Search."
9. You will retrieve a listing of eBooks that match your search terms.
10. Click on the title of the book to see all of the information about the book.
11. Click on "PDF full text" or "EPUB Full Text" to read the book.
12. Click on the tab "Search Within" to search the contents of the eBook.

EBSCO eBooks - Over 261,000 full-text eBooks available from 1800 to the present in two collections.

       EBSCO Alert Incident - Service Issue Reported – Unable to Open or Download eBooks - 7 December 2021

eBook Academic Collection                 [unlimited number of users to eBook titles]

eBook Collection                                   [usually limited to one user per eBook title]

HINTS:

When you search for an eBook,  a listing of titles is retrieved.  Click on any of the titles to view the information about the book including the most relevant pages that match the words you entered in the search box.

Use the arrows at the top of the eBook page to turn the page forward or back.

Look at the Table of Contents and Indexes on the left side of the search page to jump ahead to a relevant section of the book.

If you like one of the books, you can download or e-mail pages from  the book.  You can also print a select number of pages of the book.  You cannot print the entire book due to Copyright protection.

To search Salem eBooks, from eBook Collections, select Salem eBook Collection.  In the Search box, type the topic, i.e. nutrition.  

There will be a listing of chapters from books.  These chapter articles can be limited by categories and book titles.

Articles can be saved, printed or emailed. Article citations are available in APA and MLA formats.