Library Research Guides: Topic: Understanding History for Student Success: Ebooks

Searching for Ebooks

Ebooks are electronic books that can be read online.

To search for ebooks on your topic

Click on ebooks button
Login screen will ask you to enter your MyEPCC e-mail address and your password.
The ebook search page will open.
At the top of the page are multiple search boxes.
You can search by keyword, title, author, or subject.
Enter your search terms in the search box and then click on the pull-down arrow next to "Select a Field."
Select the type of search you are using. (Hint: If you are searching by keyword, just leave the "Select a Field" box alone or you can select "Text.")
Scroll down the page and check mark the "Full Text" box. This means you will only get books that have the full-text available online.
Click on "Search."
You will retrieve a listing of eBooks that match your search terms.
Click on the title of the book to see all of the information about the book.
Click on "eBook full text" to read the book.

HINT

When you search for an eBook, a listing of titles is retrieved. Click on any of the titles to view the information about the book including the most relevant pages that match the words you entered in the search box.

Use the arrows at the top of the eBook page to turn the page forward or back.

Look at the Table of Contents and Indexes on the left side of the search page to jump ahead to a relevant section of the book.

If you like one of the books, you can download or e-mail the book. You can also print a select number of pages of the book. You cannot print the entire book due to Copyright protection.

Other Ebook Collections

Search these E-Book collections. Give one or all a try!

EBSCO Ebooks - Over 261,000 full-text eBooks available from 1800 to the present in two collections.

eBook Academic Collection
[unlimited number of users to eBook titles]

eBook Collection
[usually limited to one user per eBook title]

ProQuest Ebook Central is a new TexShare subscription that offers ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Salem Press Online Books - Provides searchable full text for EPCC owned books from Salem Press (Enter keywords in the Search Box to search all of the books at once or click on Individual Book Titles).

Salem Press Ebook Collection

Downloading an EBSCO Ebook

You may choose to download an ebook to your computer and read it offline at a later time.

Adobe® Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher is required for offline viewing. This free software can be downloaded from this link.

To download an ebook:

Click the Download (Offline) link for the ebook you would like to download.

If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost folder, you are prompted to do so.
Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button.

Note: For some titles, you may see the option to select either the PDF or ePub format for an ebook.

The ebook is added to the Checkout area of the folder, accessible from the upper-right corner of the EBSCOhost interface.
Select to Open or Save the file from the resulting dialog box.

If you Open the file, your ebook is opened with Adobe® Digital Editions.

If you Save the file, the ebook is saved to your computer and can be opened with Adobe® Digital Editions at a later time.
When a downloaded ebook is opened, it is displayed in Adobe® Digital Editions.

For the complete EBSCO eBooks Help Guide, click on http://support.ebsco.com/ebooks/.