List of databases that support online stream videos, audio and transcript wire.
General Information
DISCovering Collection [Full text | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Includes DISCovering Authors, biography, Multicultural America, Science, U.S. and World History; EXPLORING Novels, Poetry, Shakespeare, Short Stories, Newsmakers; and various Worldmark Encyclopedias.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
General OneFile--(1980 - current) [FullText | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Provides news and periodical articles from more than 4,200 full text titles, many with images, on a wide range of topics from newswires, newspapers and periodicals including general interest and refereed journals. Updated daily.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
General Reference Center Gold [FullText | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Includes articles from newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and many other topics.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
MasterFILE Premier [Full Text | Ebsco | Off-campus access]
Provides full text for nearly 2,050 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals with some dating as far back as 1975.
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=f5h
Student Research Center [Full Text | Ebsco | Off-campus access]
A search interface designed specifically for secondary school students which allows users to choose which types of materials (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. Search also by topic use an online dictionary and encyclopedia, or limit the search by Lexile reading levels.
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=src
Controversial Issues
Opposing Viewpoints in Context [Full text | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources. Includes Lexile reading levels.
http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/
Health
Health Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module [Full text | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine and over 700 health-related videos. Key health web sites are also listed here, as well as 2,200 general interest health publications, and over 400 health and medical journals.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Health Reference Center Academic (1997-) [Full text | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Indexes periodicals covering a wide range of health and medical topics, some with full text.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Nursing & Allied Health Collection [Full text | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Includes nearly 400 titles useful for both nursing and allied health students and professionals.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source (1999-) [Full text | ProQuest | Off-campus access]
More than 250 leading full text journals in Nursing and Allied Health.
http://search.proquest.com/health?accountid=7027
Stat!Ref [Full text | Off-campus access]
Stat!Ref is an electronic medical library that enables users to cross search multiple resources such as Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, Mosby's Drug Consult, Stedman's Medical Dictionary and other valuable medical books.
http://online.statref.com/Search.aspx?grpalias=TexShare
Humanities
ARTstor is a non-profit organization created by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation which includes art, architecture and archeology images and descriptive information as well as the software tools to enable active use of the collections. This community resource is available solely for educational and scholarly uses that are noncommercial in nature.
http://www.artstor.org
Literature
Literature Resources from Gale [Full Text | Galegroup | Off-campus access]
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.
http://infotrac.galegroup.com/
Reference Material
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps [Full text | Chadwyck-Healey/Proquest | Off-campus access]
Digitized maps providing detailed property and land-use records that depicts the architectural history of Texas towns and cities including the history of individual buildings or entire communities throughout the past one hundred years. Maps can be manipulated, expanded, printed, and downloaded.
http://sanborn.umi.com
El Paso Community College Library Online Catalog
NOTE: El Paso Community College Library does not physically mail videos to distance education students.
In order to check out material found in our libraries, one will have to be present. We apologize for the inconvienance.
Our online catalog is used to search for books, videos (DVD's & VHS), and other material housed at EPCC libraries.
Keyword Search
Use a keyword search to find information on certain "keywords" associated with your search. For example if you are looking for "College issues in the United States." Try a keyword search like student tution, Student learning, The Dream Act.
You may also use the advance search to narrow and/or limit your search results. For example if you are looking for "information on study skills in college," try an advance keyword search like "Study Skills" AND College.
Subject Search
Use a subject search to find information on certain subject areas associated with your search. For example if you are looking for videos on the mind and how it affects the body," then try searching for "mind and body."
Subject Search is also good for when searching for famous persons, like "Freud, Sigmund," (type last name, then first name).
Title Search
Title search is used to search for a title of a book. Just type in the title and the system will let you know whether or not we carry that book.
Author Search
An author search allows you to search for books written by an author. Remember to type the authors name in this order (last name, then first name).
