101 + Careers in Public Health, 2/e by
In just the past few years, interest in public health careers has soared. Public health degrees are more popular than ever, but what opportunities are out there once you've earned that MPH? And do you have to have a degree in public health to break into this field? This updated and revised second edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health provides an extensive overview of the numerous and diverse career options available and the many different roads to achieving them. It includes both familiar public health careers and emerging opportunities. New to the second edition are public health careers in the military, public health and aging, and careers in cutting-edge areas such as nanotechnology and public health genetics. Readers will learn about modern approaches to public health programs, including the evolving study of implementation science and the increased role of community participatory research. The second edition also presents expanded information on getting started in public health, including the increasingly popular field of global health. Included are descriptions of careers in disease prevention, environmental health, disaster preparedness, nutrition, education, public safety, and manymore. Whether you are a student who wants to launch a career or a professional looking to change careers, this guide offers a straightforward introduction to the public health field. It details the training, salary ranges, and degree requirements for each job and alerts readers to alternative pathways beyond the traditional MPH. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Public health careers in the military Public health and aging Expanded information on global health careers and how to get started in global health Careers in cutting-edge domains of public health, such as nanotechnology and public health genetics The evolving roles of implementation science and community participatory research MD or MPH? The differences between health care and public health KEY FEATURES: Includes a detailed guide to educational paths, options, and training requirements at the bachelor's, master's, and PhD levels Offers guidance on navigating the job market through both traditional and nontraditional pathways Provides tips on landing the job you want Includes interviews with public health professionals who offer details of their day-to-day lives on the job Helps job seekers just starting out and those interested in career change
Elsevier's Medical Assisting Exam Review by 
Medical Assisting Exam Review for CMA, RMA and CMAS Certification by
This Fourth Edition of Medical Assisting Exam Review for CMA, RMA & CMAS Certification focuses on the critical most current components of the MA and MAS curricula, making it an indispensable tool for recent graduates, practicing medical assistants, medical administrative specialists and medical administrative assistants preparing to sit for any recognized national certification exams.Take advantage of a unique approach that uses a pretest with analysis to help users identify their strengths and weaknesses and develop their own personalized study plan to streamline review and practice. This proven book is packed with study smart resources, including more than 3,000 questions and six timed, simulated exams available online, as well as study tips and exam-taking strategies.Updated and enhanced with new information on key topics that affect medical assistants, the Fourth Edition now includes new chapter-ending Critical Thinking Case Reviews.
Medical Assistant Exam by
As the health care industry expands because of advances in medicine and the growth of the aging population, there will be an increased need for medical assistants. Employment is expected to grow much faster than average, ranking Certified and Registered Medical Assistants among the fastest growing occupations over the next decade. This guide is a one-stop source for information about the profession and all topics presented on the challenging certification exams.
101 Careers in Healthcare Management by
101 Careers in Healthcare Management, Second Edition continues to be the only comprehensive guide to careers in health administration, ranging from entry-level management positions to the most senior executive opportunities. The second edition has been updated throughout and includes three new chapters that will assist students and healthcare managers alike. Additional content includes a quick historical overview of the field including its growth and transformation, essential traits that will prepare a professional for career change and advancement, and a call for new leadership competencies which every job candidate should adopt and master in a rapidly adapting industry. The book includes more than 40 new interviews spanning those in entry-level positions to CEOs that reflect a greater diversity of careers and demographics in an evolving job market. Based on the most current data from the U.S. Department of Labor and professional societies in healthcare management, this guide describes careers in acute and long-term care, physician practices, international and government organizations, commercial insurance, consulting firms, executive search firms, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology, medical devices, public health organizations, information technology and informatics, and regulatory agencies. In each setting, experts explain job responsibilities, educational requirements, opportunities, and traditional and nontraditional career pathways. Authored by two senior and highly respected leaders in health administration education and written in clear, jargon-free text, the second edition, like its predecessor, is easy-to-navigate and now offers even more insider advice for students of healthcare management, career-changers, and those working in the field who are considering career advancement. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on A Brief History of Healthcare Management, Preparation and Professionalism, and Leadership Competencies for an Uncertain FutureOver 40 new interviews with healthcare managers who have changed careers or have advanced in their professional tracks
Kinn's the Administrative Medical Assistant by
More than any other product on the market, the most successful Medical Assistants begin their careers with Kinn. Trusted for more than 60 years, Kinn's The Administrative Medical Assistant: An Applied Learning Approach, 14th Edition teaches you real-world administrative skills essential for a career in the modern medical office - always with a focus on application through unfolding case scenarios, critical thinking questions, procedure videos, and interactive exercises. The reorganized 14th edition includes expanded content on topics from professionalism and interpersonal skills to billing and coding, electronic health records, and practice management as well as a new chapter reviewing medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, and pathology. With an easy-to-read style and practical focus, paired with a full complement of separately sold adaptive solutions, real-world simulations, EHR documentation experience, and HESI remediation and assessment - you'll learn the leading skills to prepare for certification and a successful career in the dynamic and growing Medical Assisting profession. Comprehensive coverage of all administrative procedures prepares you to run a medical office. 65 step-by-step illustrated procedures with rationales break down key administrative skills to master. Applied approach to learning helps you use what you've learned in a real-world setting, including case scenarios, critical thinking exercises, procedures videos, and interactive online activities. Thorough EHR coverage with access to hands-on activities incorporates use of SimChart® for the Medical Office software (sold separately) designed to ensure that you are practice-ready. Key vocabulary terms and definitions are presented at the beginning of each chapter and highlighted in text discussions. Summary of Learning Objectives serves as a checkpoint and study tool. Robust companion website includes chapter quizzes, sample certification exams, procedures videos, and interactive exercises. Patient education and legal and ethical features help relate content to practical use. NEW! Chapter reviews medical terminology, anatomy and physiology, and pathology to help you build a solid foundation. NEW! Reorganized and expanded content covers medical office accounts, collections, banking, and practice management to build a deep understanding of the workings of a medical office. NEW! Artwork focused on the workings of a modern medical office includes updated illustrations and photographs of procedures and medical records. NEW! Expanded and updated sample certification exams help you practice and prepare for certification. NEW! Streamlined presentation refines organization and writing for easy comprehension. NEW! Coverage of patient-centered care featured throughout textbook.
Health Informatics by
Instructor Resources: Authors' responses to the chapter and case study discussion questions; guidance on how the case studies may be used; PowerPoint slides of the exhibits to supplement classroom discussions and lectures; and suggested activities for exploring chapter topics, including data sets. As the reach and influence of technology grow, the world becomes increasingly connected. What happens in one system--finance, manufacturing, research, infrastructure, supply chain, and many more--can have a significant impact on the activities and outcomes in other systems. Healthcare is no exception. Connecting all of these systems is vital in order to properly support clinical care. Health informatics has the potential to align these interlocking systems in a way that transforms clinical decision-making and healthcare delivery to optimize overall system performance. Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective takes a systems approach to leveraging information in healthcare and enhancing providers' capabilities through the use of technology and knowledge transfer. The book offers a conceptual framework for aligning clinical decision processes with system infrastructures, including information technology, organizational design, financing, and evaluation. The book's contributors--all leading academics and healthcare practitioners--balance theoretical viewpoints with practical considerations. Case studies and informative sidebars support theory with real-world applications, while learning objectives, key concepts, and discussion questions facilitate learning and reinforce content. A glossary, which defines the main concepts and key terminologies presented in the text, provides a useful overview of the material. Thoroughly updated and revised, the second edition includes three new chapters on information systems in relation to population health, global health systems, and alternative financial mechanisms and their compatibility with innovative delivery models. Additional topics include: The role of human resources and information technology in healthcareKnowledge-based decision-makingTransforming clinical work processesNursing informaticsPrecision medicineData and information securityAn essential resource for students and practicing managers alike, Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective explains how information technology can enable the transformation of health organizations to improve not only the quality of healthcare, but also the health of individuals and populations.
The Complete Medical Assistant by 
Clinical Medical Assisting by 
Jones and Bartlett Learning's Clinical Medical Assisting with Navigate 2 Premier Access by
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Clinical Medical Assisting , Fifth Edition is more than just a textbook - it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the clinical skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment.The Fifth Edition includes a full chapter on Emergency Preparedness, new in-book role playing activities, and an expanded array of online resources. We're pleased to continue to offer case studies, skills videos, and animations.
Jones and Bartlett Learning's Comprehensive Medical Assisting with Navigate 2 Premier Access by
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Jones & Bartlett Learning's Comprehensive Medical Assisting, Fifth Edition is more than just a textbook - it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the administrative and clinical skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment. The Fifth Edition includes a full chapter on Emergency Preparedness, new in-book role playing activities, and an expanded array of online resources. We're pleased to offer case studies, skills videos, and animations as part of our ancillary suite.
Jones and Bartlett Learning's Administrative Medical Assisting by
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Jones & Bartlett Learning's Administrative Medical Assisting, Fourth Edition is more than just a textbook--it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the administrative skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment.
Medical Assisting: Administrative and Clinical Procedures by
The medical assisting profession is soaring to new heights with the expansion and diversity of roles and changes in the healthcare environment. Today's medical assistants must juggle many tasks in the medical office to keep up with the changes. The seventh edition of Medical Assisting:Administrative and Clinical Procedures with Anatomy and Physiology was updated to help students as well as instructors learn these ever-changing tasks and stay current in the healthcare environment.
Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants by 
Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office by
Stay up on the latest in insurance billing and coding with Marilyn Fordney's Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 14th Edition. Trusted for more than 30 years, this market-leading handbook equips you to succeed as medical insurance specialist in any of today's outpatient settings. Coverage emphasizes the role of the medical insurance specialist in areas such as diagnostic coding, procedural coding, Medicare, HIPAA, and bill collection strategies. As with previous editions, all the plans that are most commonly encountered in clinics and physicians' offices are incorporated into the text, as well as icons for different types of payers, lists of key abbreviations, and numerous practice exercises that assist you in accurately filling out claim forms. This new edition also features expanded coverage of ICD-10, electronic medical records, electronic claims submission, and the HIPAA 5010 - keeping you one step ahead of the latest practices and protocols of the profession. Key terms are defined and emphasized throughout the text to reinforce understanding of new concepts and terminology. Separate chapter on HIPAA Compliance in Insurance Billing, as well as Compliance Alerts throughout the text highlights important HIPAA compliance issues to ensure readers are compliant with the latest regulations. Emphasis on the business of running a medical office and the importance of the medical insurance specialist details the importance of the medical insurance specialist in the business of the medical office. Increased focus on electronic filing/claims submission prepares readers for the industry-wide transition to electronic claims submission. Separate chapter on documentation in the medical office covers the principles of medical documentation and the rationales for it. Service to Patient features in most chapters offer examples of good customer service. User resources on the Evolve companion website feature performance checklists, self-assessment quizzes, the Student Software Challenge (with cases on different payer types and an interactive CMS-1500 (02-12) form to fill in). NEW! Expanded coverage of ICD-10 prepares users to code ICD-10 with the planned effective date of October 2015. NEW! Added information on the electronic medical record and electronic claims submission - including information on the HIPAA 5010 - equips users for the transition between paper and electronic methods of medical records and links the CMS-1500 (02-12) form to the electronic submissions process. NEW! SimChart for the Medical Office (SCMO) application activities on the companion Evolve website adds additional functionality to the insurance module on the SCMO roadmap.
The Medical Staff Office Manual by
The Medical Staff Office Manual: Tools and Techniques for Success Marna Sorensen, CMPSM The Medical Staff Office Manual: Tools and Techniques for Success is a comprehensive guide that maps every aspect of the medical staff office, from onboarding and orienting physicians to querying other facilities for practitioner information and effectively collaborating with physician leadership. In this in-depth manual, author Marna Sorensen, CMPSM, provides MSPs guidance on their role within an organization, quick access to accreditation and regulatory information, and job descriptions and customizable forms to simplify a constantly growing list of daily responsibilities. This book will help you: Consolidate everything you need to do your job into one place Detail procedures for all of your daily tasks, including practitioner data queries, acceptance letters, job descriptions, performance reporting, and sample forms Demonstrate what you do on a daily basis and clearly define your many roles as an MSP--no more questioning who is responsible for what! Update medical staff office functions and get the word out using the new technologies at your disposal Table of Contents Introduction/How to Use This Manual Medical Staff Organization and Staffing Medical Staff Office Job Descriptions The Credentialing Process Medical Staff Clinical Privileges Advanced Practice Professionals Templates for Most-Used Forms Medical Staff Policies HR or MSO?
Pearson's Comprehensive Medical Assisting by 
Administrative Medical Assisting by 
Medical Law, Ethics, and Bioethics for the Health Professions by 
Medical Ethics, Law and Communication at a Glance by 
Medical Ethics: a Very Short Introduction by 
CPT Professional 2020 by
What are the yellow dots in the CPT® Professional 2020 Edition? The American Medical Association (AMA) takes the copyright protection of its content very seriously and is committed to providing the most effective anti-piracy efforts for its authors and readers. To help combat print piracy, protect our intellectual properties, and ensure our customers' right to authentic AMA-certified content, the CPT® Professional 2020 is equipped with state-of-the-art anti-piracy technology within its pages. Therefore, you will notice light-yellow dots in the background on most pages of this book. As a result of the implementation of this anti-piracy technology, you will notice the pages in this codebook cannot be reproduced by photocopy or scan in accordance with current copyright rules and laws. Please note, the 2021 Edition will not have these dots in the background of the pages, they will be in a small portion of the page where there is blank space so your reading experience will not be affected. CPT® 2020 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2020 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2020 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations -- provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set A comprehensive index -- aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations -- help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section -- improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents -- allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents -- provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions -- provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices -- offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables -- aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs -- allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
ICD-10-PCS 2020: the Complete Official Codebook by 
Principles of CPT Coding, Ninth Edition by
The newest edition of this best-selling educational resource contains the essential information needed to understand all sections of the CPT codebook but now boasts inclusion of multiple new chapters and a significant redesign. The ninth edition of Principles of CPT® Coding is now arranged into two parts: * CPT and HCPCS coding * An overview of documentation, insurance, and reimbursement principles Part 1 provides a comprehensive and in-depth guide for proper application of service and procedure codes and modifiers for which this book is known and trusted. A staple of each edition of this book, these revised chapters detail the latest updates and nuances particular to individual code sections and proper code selection. Part 2 consists of new chapters that explain the connection between and application of accurate coding, NCCI edits, and HIPAA regulations to documentation, payment, insurance, and fraud and abuse avoidance. The new full-color design offers readers of the illustrated ninth edition a more engaging and far better educational experience. Features and Benefits * New content! New chapters covering documentation, NCCI edits, HIPAA, payment, insurance, and fraud and abuse principles build the reader's awareness of these inter-related and interconnected concepts with coding. * New learning and design features -- Vocabulary terms highlighted within the text and defined within the margins that conveniently aid readers in strengthening their understanding of medical terminology -- "Advice/Alert Notes" that highlight important information, exceptions, salient advice, cautionary advice regarding CMS, NCCI edits, and/or payer practices -- Call outs to "Clinical Examples" that are reminiscent of what is found in the AMA publications CPT® Assistant, CPT® Changes, and CPT® Case Studies -- "Case Examples" peppered throughout the chapters that can lead to valuable class discussions and help build understanding of critical concepts -- Code call outs within the margins that detail a code description -- Full-color photos and illustrations that orient readers to the concepts being discussed -- Single-column layout for ease of reading and note-taking within the margins -- Exercises that are Internet-based or linked to use of the AMA CPT® QuickRef app that encourage active participation and develop coding skills -- Hands-on coding exercises that are based on real-life case studies
CPT Changes 2021: an Insider's View by
For a better understanding of the latest revisions to the CPT® code set, rely on the best-selling CPT® Changes 2021: An Insider's View. Find the meaning behind all the changes included in the AMA's CPT® 2021 Professional Edition codebook. Invest in this annual publication and get the insider's perspective into the CPT code set directly from the source--the American Medical Association. AMA is the authority to turn to when seeking an official interpretation and explanation for a CPT code or guideline change. Know the changes inside and out. Avoid and reduce claim denials. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Organizational structure like the CPT codebook -- allows coders to easily conduct a side-by-side read of CPT® Changes with the CPT® Professional Official AMA rationales -- provide a detailed explanation for the code or guideline change Clinical examples, procedural descriptions and illustrations -- help explain the practical application for each change At-a-glance summary table of the 2021 changes in each section -- shows the extent to which that changes affect a specialty
CPT 2021 Professional Edition by
Buyer beware - know who you're buying from It has been brought to our attention that counterfeit CPT books are being sold on Amazon; these sales not only hurt the integrity of the CPT copyright but also give the customer a book of very low quality (missing pages, low quality tab stickers, blurry print, weak binding). There are numerous 3rd party sellers that sell the CPT book. Make sure you're purchasing through a reputable seller to guarantee authenticity; price is a very good indication when looking for a reputable seller, cheaper is not always best. If you believe you were sold a counterfeit CPT book, please contact the American Medical Association atbookandonlinesales@ama-assn.org and we will ensure you are provided with an authentic copy. CPT® 2021 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2021 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. FEATURES AND BENEFITS The CPT® 2021 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features: CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations -- provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set E/M 2021 code changes - gives guidelines on the updated codes for office or other outpatient and prolonged services section incorporated A comprehensive index -- aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations -- help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section -- improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents -- allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents -- provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions -- provides a quick reference to 2020 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices -- offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services Comprehensive E/M code selection tables -- aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs -- allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work More full color procedural illustrations Notes pages at the end of every code set section and subsection
ICD-10-CM 2021: the Complete Official Codebook with Guidelines by
ICD-10-CM 2021: The Complete Official Codebook provides the entire updated code set for diagnostic coding, organized to make the challenge of accurate coding easier. This codebook is the cornerstone for establishing medical necessity, determining coverage and ensuring appropriate reimbursement. Each of the 21 chapters in the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries is organized to provide quick and simple navigation to facilitate accurate coding. The book also contains supplementary appendixes including a coding tutorial, pharmacology listings, a list of valid three-character codes and additional information on Z-codes for long-term drug use and Z-codes that can only be used as a principal diagnosis. Official coding guidelines for 2021 are bound into this codebook. FEATURES AND BENEFITS Full list of code changes. Quickly see the complete list of new, revised, and deleted codes affecting the FY 2021 codes, including a conversion table and code changes by specialty. QPP symbol in the tabular section. The symbol identifies diagnosis codes associated with Quality Payment Program (QPP) measures under MACRA. New and updated coding tips. Obtain insight into coding for physician and outpatient settings. New and updated definitions in the tabular listing. Assign codes with confidence based on illustrations and definitions designed to highlight key components of the disease process or injury and provide better understanding of complex diagnostic terms. Intuitive features and format. This edition includes full-color illustrations and visual alerts, including color-coding and symbols that identify coding notes and instructions, additional character requirements, codes associated with CMS hierarchical condition categories (HCC), Medicare Code Edits (MCEs), manifestation codes, other specified codes, and unspecified codes. Placeholder X. This icon alerts the coder to an important ICD-10-CM convention--the use of a "placeholder X" for three-, four- and five-character codes requiring a seventh character extension. Coding guideline explanations and examples. Detailed explanations and examples related to application of the ICD-10-CM chapter guidelines are provided at the beginning of each chapter in the tabular section. Muscle/tendon translation table. This table is used to determine muscle/tendon action (flexor, extensor, other), which is a component of codes for acquired conditions and injuries affecting the muscles and tendons Index to Diseases and Injuries. Shaded guides to show indent levels for subentries. Appendices. Supplement your coding knowledge with information on proper coding practices, risk adjustment coding, pharmacology, and Z codes.
Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT Coding by
This unique resource pairs the CPT® code set and full descriptors with relevant anatomical illustrations created by famed medical illustrator and physician Frank Netter, MD, and others working in the Netter tradition. Each of seven chapters delves into a specific anatomical region--starting with the head and ending with the lower extremities--and opens with a brief introduction explaining the features of the region. The result is an illustrated explanation of how medical procedures relate to anatomy. This long-awaited third edition of Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy for CPT® Coding provides readers a natural reference tool for reviewing clinical information and understanding the assignment of codes. FEATURES AND BENEFITS · MORE THAN A DECADE OF CODE UPDATES! This third edition features CPT® 2020 codes and descriptors from the Anesthesia, Surgery, Radiology, and Medicine sections of CPT® Professional and integrates them with more than 500 anatomical illustrations from the Netter collection. The second edition featured the 2009 code set. · NEW ILLUSTRATIONS! New illustrations are featured in every chapter, with more than 100 new anatomical and procedural plates. · ADDITIONAL CODE SECTION INCLUDED! Category III codes are now included, giving visual context to the relationship between anatomy and emerging technology, services, procedures, and service paradigms. · Select CPT guidelines and instructional notes appear verbatim with the codes and illustrations while an appendix offers section opening guidelines for easy reference. · Nomenclature notes help explain related terminology. · A special symbol indicates when a procedural illustration exists for a code thereby allowing the reader to reference CPT® Professional for additional information. · An appendix of abbreviations frequently found in CPT code descriptions and guidelines provide readers with information that can aid them in understanding documentation used to support code assignment. · NEW EPONYMS APPENDIX! A procedural eponyms appendix gives not only a list of common eponyms found within the code set but a brief explanation of each procedure. · NEW PROCEDURAL ILLUSTRATIONS APPENDIX! The inclusion of select procedural illustrations found in CPT® Professional helps readers make the visual connects between anatomy and procedure.
Physicians by
Selecting diagnosis codes is faster and easier with Buck's 2020 ICD-10-CM Physician Edition. Designed by coders for coders, this full-color manual ensures you learn the most accurate billing and reimbursement codes for medical services provided in the physicians' office and out-patient settings. As coders need extensive knowledge to code with ICD-10-CM - and to choose from the thousands of possible codes - this edition makes it easier with colorful Netter's Anatomy illustrations to help you understand anatomy and how it can affect your code choices. In addition, it comes with durable spiral binding, and includes a companion website with the latest coding news and updates. At-a-glance Guide to the Updates in the front of the book lists all new, revised, and deleted codes, providing at-a-glance lookup of the coding changes. Official Guidelines for Coding and Reporting (OGCRs) are listed in full in the Introduction, at the beginning of each chapter, and integrated within the code set, providing easier reference to coding rules when they are needed most. Unique! Full-color Netter's Anatomy art is included in a separate section for easy reference and cross-referenced within the Tabular List of Diseases and Injuries, to help users understand anatomy and how it may affect choosing codes. Full-color design includes consistent color-coded symbols and text, providing easier access to codes and coding information. American Hospital Association's Coding Clinic® citations include official ICD-10-CM coding advice relating to specific codes and their usage. 182 illustrations provide visual orientation and enhance understanding of specific coding situations. Items are included throughout the Tabular List to ensure accurate coding, providing additional information on common diseases and conditions. Additional elements within specific codes define terms and add coding instructions relating to difficult terminology, diseases and conditions, or coding in a specific category. Symbols and highlights draw attention to codes that may require special consideration before coding, including: new, revised, and deleted Unacceptable Principle Diagnosis Codes that call for the use of additional character(s) Includes, Excludes 1 and Excludes 2 Use Additional Unspecified Code First and Code Also Placeholder X symbol reminds you to assign placeholder X for codes less than 6 characters that require a 7th character. Manifestation code symbol identifies conditions for which it is important to record both the etiology and the symptom of the disease. Age and Sex edits from the Definition of Medicare Code Edits help to ensure accuracy by denoting codes that are used only with patients of a specific age or sex. NEW! Updated 2020 Official Code set reflects the latest ICD-10 codes needed for diagnosis coding. NEW! Symbol will identify diagnoses in the tabular list associated with HCC (Hierarchical Condition Categories).
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by
The definitive guide to starting a successful career in medical billing and coding With the healthcare sector growing at breakneck speed--it's currently the largest employment sector in the U.S. and expanding fast--medical billing and coding specialists are more essential than ever. These critical experts, also known as medical records and health information technicians, keep systems working smoothly by ensuring patient billing and insurance data are accurately and efficiently administered. This updated edition provides everything you need to begin--and then excel in--your chosen career. From finding the right study course and the latest certification requirements to industry standard practices and insider tips for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies, Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies has you completely covered. Find out about the flexible employment options available and how to qualify Understand the latest updates to the ICD-10 Get familiar with ethical and legal issues Discover ways to stay competitive and get ahead The prognosis is good--get this book today and set yourself up with the perfect prescription for a bright, secure, and financially healthy future!
Medical Terminology Systems by
Text An innovative word-building approach covers each word one by one, introducing the word elements first roots, combining forms, suffixes, and prefixes to help you easily decipher medical terminology. Full-color illustrations and a streamlined layout helps you progress through the text step by step. A reading level appropriate for all learners makes concepts crystal clear. Body Systems Connections tables identify interrelationships of each body system to give you a thorough understanding of each system. Coverage features all aspects of healthcare, including diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and a strong focus on A&P and pathology. Every body systems chapter includes complete medical records, word-building activities, and key terms. Coverage of commonly used psychiatric terms and drugs. The Medical Language Lab The MLL is the interactive, online program for med term mastery customized for Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition. Version 2.0 features even more ways for you to learn medical terminology. Lessons that correspond to the chapters in the text Integrated ebook Lecture videos with learning style tips to help students identify the ways they learn best Audio Tutorials with interactive exercises Progressive immersive, multi-media activities Automatic grading and reporting to Gradebook. See an example of the Gradebook here. Additional practice exercises Opportunities for collaborative learning
Medical Terminology: an Illustrated Guide with Navigate 2 Premier Access by
Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide, Ninth Edition helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any healthcare setting. The text opens with a general introduction to word parts and the human body as a whole, followed by an overview of diseases and treatments. Each subsequent chapter on the individual body systems begins with an illustrated overview of the system with definitions of key terms relevant to that system. Tables of word parts and exercises on using them follow. The sequence of the systems chapters follows the same order as that found in a tradition A&P courses.Turning to the abnormal, a section on diseases and treatments is included, followed by definitions of related key terms.
Medical Terminology for Dummies by
Take the intimidation out of medical terminology Every job in the medical field needs some background in medical terminology. From the check-in desk to the doctor to the pharmaceutical sales rep, and everyone around and in between, healthcare professionals and those in adjacent fields use a common and consistent vocabulary to improve quality, safety, and efficiency. Medical Terminology For Dummies is a powerful resource for current and prospective healthcare professionals. It provides different ways to memorize the words and their meanings, including ideas for study materials, flash cards, quizzes, mind maps, and games. Plus, you'll discover how to identify, pronounce, define, and apply words in proper context. Grasp the standardized language of medicine Find the easiest way to remember tongue-twisting terms Benefit from lots of definitions and examples Understand, retain, and put this knowledge to use If you're one of the millions of professionals hoping to succeed in this booming field, this book gets you talking the talk so you can walk the walk!
Guide to Basic Medical Terminology by 
Medical Terminology by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Medical Terminology Quick and Concise: a Programmed Learning Approach Packaged with Companion Website Access Code by
Medical Terminology Quick & Concise: A Programmed Learning Approach is a unique combination of core medical terminology and a programmed self-study approach that allows you to easily master and apply the building blocks of medical terminology.
Medical Assisting Simplified: Pharmacology by
Medical Assisting Simplified: Pharmacology presents the core basic concepts of pharmacology in a light-hearted, humorous, readable, extremely practical style that makes teaching and learning fun. A host character guides students through pharmacology concepts needed to pass certification exams required by CAAHEP and ABHES. Boxes with eye-catching icons provide practical advice about workplace scenarios and other topics. More than 175 full-color illustrations enhance visual learning.
Ophthalmic Medical Assisting by
Increase the quality of care provided to your patients by offering comprehensive, up-to-date training to your staff. Ophthalmic Medical Assisting is a self-study program for beginning ophthalmic assistants that blends fundamental medical and scientific information and essential practical skills. The new, sixth edition incorporates a greater emphasis on office responsibility and patient interaction; ensuring patients are offered the best possible care from the moment they walk in your door. The fully illustrated textbook describes 44 procedures step-by-step and covers all topics in both the United States and international curricula. The print version includes QR codes within the text that can be easily scanned to access and 12 interactive anatomical models of the eye and 20 videos that demonstrate clinical techniques, creating an active learning process. Each chapter has self-assessment questions and suggested activities to reinforce the preceding lessons. The course consists of a textbook, available in print or eBook, and an online examination. Successful completion of the course serves as a prerequisite for the Certified Ophthalmic Assistant (COA) examination administered by the Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO). The eBook, which includes the full text and images from the print version, can be read using most smartphones, tablets and computers. Videos and interactive anatomical models are integrated into the text. The comprehensive online exam will test technicians newly-acquired knowledge at the conclusion of the course, offering immediate scoring. Those who pass the exam with a score of 80 per cent or higher instantly receive a letter of successful completion. Those who do not pass are given a second exam attempt for free.
Diversity and Cultural Competence in Health Care by 
Handbook of Cultural Factors in Behavioral Health by
Having the knowledge and capacity to deliver therapy to a diverse population is recognized as benefiting client-therapist relationships and producing positive clinical outcomes. In fact, the APA requires that psychologists be aware of and respect the cultural characteristics of their clients which includes psychologists being aware of any biases and prejudice they may hold. Being aware of cultural characteristics, which include age, gender, ethnicity, race, religion and other cultural factors, is important. In the United States, minority ethnic groups are growing substantially, with 28% of the U.S. population identifying as races other than white (U.S. Census, 2016). Additionally, approximately 65 million people in America speak a foreign language that is not English, with over 25 million people having limited English language proficiency. With a diverse pool of clients, helping professionals should be better prepared to work with diverse clients. This handbook offers clinicians a comprehensive resource with which to work with diverse populations. The myriad discussions among the chapters include: Ethical guidelines for working with culturally diverse clients Cultural considerations in psychological assessment and evaluation Behavioral health service delivery with culturally diverse clients Cross-cultural factors in the treatment of trauma related disorders Cultural considerations in the assessment and behavioral treatment of substance use disorders Handbook of Cultural Factors in Behavioral Health expertly offers clinicians a comprehensive set of resources and tools that will assist them working with diverse clients. Clinicians working with culturally diverse clients, as well as researchers and students learning about how cultural factors are relevant to the helping profession will all find this volume an integral addition to their library.
Cultural Diversity: Issues, Challenges and Perspectives by 
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness by 