Government 2306: State and Local (Mr. Enriquez): Websites

Google: www.google.com

1. Advanced Search - click on "advanced search" (next to search box or gear in corner depending on version)
2. Find "Search within a site or domain"
3. Enter .gov, .edu, .org, or .mil to help you find reputable websites.

Google Scholar: www.google.com

1. At the top of the google page, click on more - even more - then Scholar.
2. Will search for articles and organizational websites, technical papers, etc...
3. Some articles may have free full-text, but if not, use the information from the Articles/Databases page entitled "Check if EPCC owns a particular journal."

Texas State Agency List: TRAIL (Texas Records and Information Locator)

Provides access to the TRAIL webpage for Texas agencies which includes contact information, agency home page, backgrounda dn other information dependent on the agency.

Texas.gov

Provides contact information and link to agency websites.

TWC Websites of Texas State Agencies and State Funded Institutions

Texas Workforce Commission listing of websites for Texas Agencies and otehr Institutions

Work in Texas

Sponsored by Texas Workforce Commission.  Online job search for TExas employers including agencies.  Under "What" enter agency name in quotes and search to see if any jobs are listed.

Handbook of Texas Online

Encyclopedia of TExas history may include information on various agencies.

City of El Paso Website

Click on City Departments

El Paso County Website

Click on "Departments" (Right top of page)

El Paso Inc.

Weekly newspaper news, lifestyle, border business and personal finance.  Use search box to find agency news.

Borderlands

EPCC student articles on various El Paso and regional historic and cultural topics.  Use search box to enter agency name.

The Internet has a lot of great resources.  It is important, however, to evaluate the website to make sure it has reliable information before using it in your paper.

Author 

Who is the author of the website?  Do they have a degree in the topic they are writing about?  Who are they affiliated with?  

(Look for author name, “about us,” “who we are,” etc… for this information)

Date

How old is the information?  Has it been updated recently? (Look for the publication date)

Bias

Is the information biased?  Are they taking a side of the issue and trying to push their opinion or trying to sell you something?  Is it fact or opinion?  It is important to use unbiased sources for informational papers. 

Coverage

Is the topic fully covered? What is the purpose of the webpage?  Did they author state where they got the information?

Lastly, do not use Wikipedia as a source for your academic papers.  Most instructors will not allow it to be used because it is not always accurate and may not have reputable authors.