Government 2306: State and Local (Mr. Enriquez): Articles/Databases

Academic Search Complete

This database provides access to more than 13,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

Academic One File

Provides indexing to more than 13,000 titles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, arts, theology, literature, engineering, business and other subjects beginning in 1980.  Includes peer-reviewed articles from over 7,300 academic journals and reference sources with more than 5,000 full-text.

General OneFile

Provides news and periodical articles from more than 4,200 full text titles, many with images, on a wide range of topics from newswires, newspapers and periodicals including general interest and refereed journals. Updated daily.

El Paso Times

Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of El Paso Times. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections. Coverage is from 1999 to the present.

LexisNexis® Academic

Provides access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes El Paso Times back to 1999 and deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in other national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Detailed company information and financial performance measures, and company comparisons are available through the Company Dossier module. Also provides access to the Shepard's Citations® legal service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.

Newspaper Source 

Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.

Texas Reference Center

Provides access to 80 full-text journals and books about Texas.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources.

SIRS Researcher

SIRS Government Reporter with full text of select U.S. government documents and landmark Supreme Court cases. SIRS Researcher contains articles on controversial topics from 1,500 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, journals and U.S. government publications. SIRS Renaissance contains full text articles on the arts and humanities. Updated bi-weekly.

CQ Researcher

Weekly in depth studies of "hot" issues in the news with topics ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year which include charts, graphs, and a pro-con feature.

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: www.epcc.edu/library

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your topic: Health and Wellness or General Interest.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (If you are off-campus, click on "Off-campus access." You will be asked to enter your last name and EPCC ID number.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

You may find that a database only provides a citation but not the full-text article.  To find out if we own the full-text article on another database or in print, try the following:

In Print

• Go to the library homepage
• Click on "library catalog"
• Right side of page, click on "Magazines/Journals/Newspapers"
• Enter the journal title needed
• If owned, will show you at which campus and the years owned

In Electronic Format

• Go to the library homepage
• Click on "online databases"
• Click on "alphabetical list of databases"
• Click on Letter "A"
• Click on "A to Z index" (off-campus available also)
• Enter title of journal in search box
• If owned, will give you name of database click on it.

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access.  Just click on any of the database names.  When the database opens, it will ask you to log in with your MyEPCC login and password.

Use quotation marks "" around words to search for a phrase, i.e. "Texas Department of Agriculture."

Use* to truncate search word: i.e. agenc* searches for agency and agencies.

If your instructor ever asks you to find a magazine or a journal, you might be wondering,  What is the difference?

Magazine

• Written for a general audience at about the 7th grade level.
• Articles are usually written by people with Journalism or English degrees.  The author's don't always have a degree in the field they are writing about.
• Usually have a lot of pictures and advertisements.  The goal of a magazine is to sell magazines, so they put something eye-catching on the cover to get your attention.

Journal

• Contains information and research on a particular field of study. 
• Articles in journals are written by people who have a degree in that particular or similar field or they have a lot of experience in that area of study.
• The articles are usually written for the professional and may use technical language.
• The goals of a journal is to further knowledge in a particular field.
• Articles usually contain abstracts, graphs, and bibliographies.
• There are journals for all different types of subjects (Business, Political Science, Nursing, Libraries, Science, History, etc...)
• Information is more reliable than a magazine because the articles are written by professionals in that field.