Library Distance Education: Articles/Databases

El Paso Community College Library Online Databases

Use the EPCC online databases to search for articles found in magazines, journals and newspapers. Many databases even carry video, images, interviews, ebooks and primary sources. Each database is unique, so try to familiarize yourself with it before you begin. Use the help or tutorials found in each database page for assistance.  

Here are a couple of hints.

·     Use the advanced search.

·     Type in simple keywords like "critical thinking" or "college success AND students." (See "How to Get Started" tab for more help.)

·     Make sure to click on full text. (If not, you will retrieve abstract articles as well as full text.)

·     If you are looking for journals only, click on the box that states "journals only." Sometimes it might say "academic journals" or "scholarly (peer reviewed) journals."

*If you are off campus and wish to access the online databases, log in to your my.epcc.edu first.

Academic One File

This database provides access to over 17,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers. 

Search using keywords placed in the search boxes.  Just place your words in the search box and click on the magnifying glass.

You can also try the "Subject Guide Search" found at the top of the search page.  If you click on "Subject Guide Search", enter just the main idea of your topic such as Civil War or diabetes. Click on the magnifying glass to search. When the list is retrieved, click on the Subdivisions+ and click on the categories that are related to your topic.This will help narrow your search to retrieve articles on those particular topics. 

Click on the title of the article you would like to read.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.  A citation tool is also available to help you cite your sources.

Academic Search Complete

This database provides access to more than 6,500 FULL TEXT magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.  There is also a citation tool available to help you cite your sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides social issues viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Sources used are the Opposing Viewpoints Series from Greenhaven Press, as well as other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA core reference sources.

CQ Researcher

Weekly in depth studies of "hot" issues in the news with topics ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year which include charts, graphs, and a pro-con feature.

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your topic, go to the following library webpage: https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. If you are not sure where to start, try: General Interest.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (If you are off-campus, click on "Off-campus access." You will be asked to enter your my.epcc.edu login information.)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box, which limits to articles with full text article attached.
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

If your instructor ever asks you to find a magazine or a journal, you might be wondering, "What is the difference?"

Magazine

• Written for a general audience at about the 7th grade level.
• Articles are usually written by people with journalism or English degrees.  The authors don't always have a degree in the field they are writing about.
• Usually have a lot of pictures and advertisements.  The goal of a magazine is to sell magazines, so they put something eye-catching on the cover to get your attention.

Journal

• Contains information and research on a particular field of study. 
• Articles in journals are written by people who have a degree in that particular or similar field or they have a lot of experience in that area of study.
• The articles are usually written for the professional and may use technical language.
• The goal of a journal is to further knowledge in a particular field.
• Articles usually contain abstracts, graphs, and bibliographies.
• There are journals for all different types of subjects (business, political science, nursing, libraries, science, history, etc.)
• Information is more reliable than a magazine, because the articles are written by professionals in that field.

El Paso Times  Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of El Paso Times. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and other sections.

Access World News    A comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Includes El Paso Times from 1999- Present

Newspaper Source  Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television and radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers including 15 from Texas. Updated daily.