Ask at the Circulation Desk.
Search the indexes in the back of the books for your topic.
City at the Pass (chapters on time periods)
El Paso Chronicles (important events listed chronologically)
El Paso: A Borderlands History (chapters on time periods)
El Segundo Barrio (research underrepresented people and places)
Forty Years at El Paso by W. W. Mills electronic version available.
Historic El Paso: An Illustrated History (lovely photographs)
Pass of the North Vols. I and II (chapters on time periods)
Ringside Seat to a Revolution(underground cultural history)
These books may only be used in the library, but we may have another copy that can be taken home. Check the library catalog.
Where to start
Find out if a Borderlands article has already been written on your topic. Use search box at Borderlands website.
Check our Potential Topics pages to see what sources we may have already found on your topic.
Google is a good place to start to see what is out there. It is not the "be all and end all" -- you MUST check all the other sources below, but it often provides clues to sources difficult to find.
Handbook of Texas Online Specialized encyclopedia available online and in print. Be sure to check article bibliography and don't miss author's name at end of article.
Blogs @ El Paso Times reprinted El Paso Times articles that are on the Tales from the Morgue blog. Browsing and searching may give you other ideas for topics. It appears that there is now a limited amount of articles that can be viewed before a fee is required.
El Paso History on Facebook historical photos and more by Trish Long, archivist at the El Paso Times
Password (Journal of the El Paso County Historical Society) The Society has its index to Password online. In addition, you can search the entire site for a keyword, and you may come up with obituaries, blog posts, or other bits of information. You will have to search in the cumulative indexes in print for Vols 1-38, Vols 39-45, and then in the index at the back of each volume after that. Find Password volumes at many libraries. In Password citations, the first number (in bold or in roman numerals), is the volume, the second number is the page.
Search libraries for books to check out:
- EPCC our library catalog. Be sure to click the "find at UTEP" button to repeat your search in their catalog. For articles, see the Databases of journal, magazine and newspaper articles page described below. El Paso Times is under Newspapers. I prefer to search them separately, but you can search Ebsco Discovery Service which combines both books and journal articles. Use the search box on this page to start.
- UTEP Library (To check out books need TexShare card - available at Northwest Library circulation desk.)
- El Paso Public Library
- NMSU Library (if researching a New Mexico topic)
Institute of Oral History (UTEP) over 1000 interviews covering a wide range of subjects. You may search online for interviews or topics, and if the interview has been transcribed, click on “download button” to view a PDF of the transcript. If it isn’t available, you may listen to the interview at Special Collections Department, University Library, UTEP.
Digital Commons Network a network of free publications from universities that is very useful to check.
Google Books Search full-text of books, see previews of pertinent pages, and find what libraries own the books so you can check them out, if you wish, or request them through interlibrary loan (if they are distant libraries). If you find a dissertation on your topic, you can use the public access PCs at the UTEP Library to view the full text of dissertations published since 1977. Selected full text could be available for earlier titles.
Portal to Texas History database of photos, maps, newspaper articles, journal articles and more on Texas History. Worth a quick search on your topic. **If you are fortunate enough to have a topic or person that was influential in the years 1910s-1920s, the website is digitizing El Paso newspapers from that time period, hopefully onward.
Databases of journal, magazine and newspaper articles Search entries in the Database Collections (Ebsco, Proquest, Gale, SIRS) Very important that you know how to search these for other classes as well! *****For this class in particular, you need to search the El Paso Times, access it from the newspapers database page. --learn how to search from home -- from recent years (and then search the older articles by going to the Border Heritage Center at the Main Library downtown).*****
There is a for fee site that I have used: https://www.newspapers.com which has a free 7 day trial. The newspaper is largely the El Paso Herald Post for many decades of the 20th century, so it is a great keyword search of the newspaper. There is a way to use them to at least get the dates/pages of the newspapers and then go to the microfilm at the El Paso Public Library downtown. to do this do a google search with your person's name and also this phrase: site:newspaperarchive.com or site:newspapers.com
Other historical collections of El Paso newpapers:
- Portal to Texas History and Chronicling America: historic American newspapers have El Paso Herald from 1910-1921
Other El Paso history places.
DIGIE -- Digital Information Gateway In El Paso. A vast collection of images and videos exploring El Paso’s past and present.
El Paso Museum of History Visit to see current and permanent exhibits. Perhaps you will learn more about your topic.
El Paso History Show radio program Listen to archived shows (live on KTSM on Saturdays)
Border Heritage Center @ Main Library
VERTICAL FILE (collections of newspaper articles, brochures, photos etc.) on people, businesses, topics
NEWSPAPER CARD INDEX (indexes articles in El Paso's major newspapers before the 1990s: El Paso Herald Post and El Paso Times). The newspaper articles will be on microfilm, separate drawers for each newspaper and you'll have to find the reel for your date, thread it through the machine and print out the articles. There are digital readers that allow you to save the articles electronically but take change with you just in case to make print outs or photocopies.
Border History Archives
Go here ONLY when you know as much as you can already!
Special Collections (UTEP Library) On the 6th floor of the UTEP Library, this department has a wealth of local history: papers, photographs, manuscripts, maps, etc. Detailed descriptions of the collections that have been processed are online and searchable.
El Paso Historical Society The archives at the Historical Society contain DIFFERENT sources from Password! Call ahead ((915) 533-3603) to see if your topic may be in their archives. At this time, there is no searchable index on their website.
McCall Neighborhood Center. Museum and archives of African American history in the Southwest. 3231 East Wyoming Avenue, El Paso, TX 79902 915.566.2407 Facebook page
El Paso County Border Area Archives listing and description of various other archives of El Paso area history.