Academic Search Complete (Indexing 1984-, Full text 1990-) [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides full text for 4,600 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies with some information dating as far back as 1975.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
CINAHL Complete (1937-) [Full text | Ebsco]
CINAHL Complete, Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, indexes over 5,400 journals and provides full text for more than 1,400 journals in nursing, allied health disciplines, alternative/complementary medicine and health sciences librarianship.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Films on Demand: Nursing Current Concepts and Practices Collection -- [Videos | Infobase] *NEW*
This collection is designed not only to help nursing students excel in their studies and pass licensure exams, but also to prepare them for long-term job success in an increasingly complex health care system.
https://www.infobase.com/products/nursing-core-collection/
Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine [Full text | Gale]
Indexes periodicals covering a wide range of health and medical topics, some with full text.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health [Full text | Gale]
Access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management.
Health Research Premium Collection (1999-) [Full text | ProQuest]
More than 250 leading full text journals in Nursing and Allied Health.
https://www.proquest.com/healthresearch
Health Source®: Nursing/Academic [Full Text | Ebsco]
Provides full text of nearly 550 scholarly full text journals in many medical disciplines. Strong coverage of nursing and allied health areas. Includes Clinical Pharmacology database. Updated on a daily basis.
MEDLINE [Ebsco]
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences. No full text articles.
http://search.ebscohost.com/
Merck Manual for the Professional -- [Full Text | Merck]
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.
MICROMEDEX ® 2.0 Healthcare Series [Full text | Truven Health Analytics]
(Use Google Chrome or Mozilla browsers to view off-campus)
A wide range of clinical databases which include unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. Information includes: CareNotes™ System (patient care); Formulary Advisor™, and Red Book Online (pharmacy).
May be used from EPCC campuses and off-campus locations that are NOT clinical sites. Exception: If the clinical site subscribes to MICROMEDEX it may be used at that location by EPCC students, faculty and staff.
http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian/
Nursing Education in Video, 3rd ed. [Full videos | ProQuest]
Up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills.
Ovid Nursing Community College Extended Journal Collection -- [ Full Text | Wolters Kluwer]
This database contains 42 active journal titles with Full Text to the present on all titles.
http://ovidsp.ovid.com
Updated: October 20, 2023
The CINAHL Complete advanced search page offers several options for finding evidence-based medicine articles. Click the Advanced Search link on the main page, and then scroll down until you see some of the options on the right.
The Evidence-Based Practice box will limit your search to Evidence-Based practice articles and journals, as well as certain types of studies.
The Randomized Controlled Trials box limits to articles so identified.
The Publication Type box has several options that might be considered strong evidence, including Clinical Trial, Systematic Review, Randomized Controlled Trial, Evidence-Based Practice and Meta Analysis. You can combine several of these options by holding down the CTRL key on your keyboard as you choose multiple options.
It would be wise to not check all of these boxes or choose all these publication types at once. No articles will match ALL of these criteria. Try each of these three options in separate searches.
(From Austin Community College's - EMS Research Guide - Author: Steven Self)
Alt-HealthWatch [Full Text (1990-) | Ebsco]
Full text articles from over 180 publications focus on complementary and alternative approaches to health care and wellness.
CareNotes® [Full text | Truven Health Analytics] (Use Google Chrome or Mozilla browsers to view)
Contain concise, easy-to-understand information relating to standard treatments for a variety of diseases and conditions. The carenotes cover general information on the nature of the disease/condition, possible causes, signs and symptoms, and standard means of care and support.
Consumer Health Reference eBook Collection [Full Text | Ebsco]
eBook titles covering a broad range of general health topics, including disease such as cancer and diabetes; weight management and exercise; allergies; senior care; social emotional health; developmental disorders; and natural health.
Health Source: Consumer Edition [Full Text | Ebsco]
Features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 135 health reference books including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Also contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). Drug information and patient education fact sheets are included in the Clinical Pharmacology portion of this database.
Salud en Español [Full text | Ebsco]
Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.
Updated: March 19, 2024
Type in your keywords in the search box. A new window will pop-up.
Make sure you disable your pop-up blocker.
Online databases are available 24 hours a day.
Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access. Just click on the database name you would like to search.
Remember, what you see on the left & above, is only a selection of databases shown. For the full list of databases, click on the link below
Sometimes your instructors may want you to limit your research to a specific Sex or Age Groups. With CINAHL Complete advanced search page, you can do so. You can also limit by Language.
