Career Resources: Articles/Online Databases

When you are ready to search for articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers on your Career, go to the following library homepage:https://www.epcc.edu/Services/Libraries

1. Click on "Online Databases."  (An online database is a collection of magazines journals, and newspapers that have been placed on the computer.)
2. The databases are divided up by subject.  Choose the subject closest to your topic.
3. Try these subjects for your Career: Career & Testing, General, Newspaper or Subject of your career ex. Health and Medicine.
4. Choose a database under one of these subjects.
5. Select the database you would like to use by clicking on the title. (You will enter your MyEPCC Login/password)
6. Enter your keywords in the search box and click search.
7. Checkmark the Full Text box (limits to articles with full text article attached.)
8. Find the article you want to read and click on the title.
9. To read the article, click on pdf or html full-text link provided.
10. You can e-mail, print, or save the article.

Subject: Career & Testing

Learning Express Library

This database offers practice exercises and exams for licensure exams and occupational tests. In addition, provides courses and information on resume building, interviewing, and various software applications.  (Uses same username and password as Job & Career Accelerator.)

Job & Career Accelerator

This database offers an occupation matcher questionnaire which will list jobs that match your interests.  Also provides a job and internship searching database and college information.   A resume builder and sample letters are also available. Uses same username and password as Learning Express.)

Vocational and Career Collection

This database provides access to over 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view. Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

 Subject: General Interest

Academic OneFile

This database provides access to over 13,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using the "Subject Guide Search" found at the top of the search page on the orange tabs.  Click on "Subject Guide Search." Enter the name of your career or field (Ex: Teachers). Click on the magnifying glass to search. When the list is retrieved, click on the +Subdivisions and click on the categories that are related to careers such as Employment, Economic Aspects, Educational Aspects, Licensing, Certification, and Accreditation, Recruiting, Supply and Demand, Vocational Guidance, etc...This will retrieve articles on those particular topics.  Click on the title of the article  you would like to read.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

Academic Search Complete

This database provides access to more than 13,000 magazines, journals, and newspapers.  Search using keywords.  Checkmark Full Text box. Click on the title of any article you would like to view.  Print, Save, or E-mail articles.

Subject: Newspapers/Current Events

El Paso Times -- [Full Text | ProQuest] 

Full text coverage from Apr 23, 2010 to the present.
http://www.proquest.com

Online databases are available 24 hours a day.

Online Databases are available from any computer with Internet access.  Just click on any of the database names.  When the database opens, it will ask you to log in with your MyEPCC login and password.

Use your keyword list to search for articles in the online databases. 

• Career Name
• Career Name
  • and Careers
  • and Vocational Guidance
  • and Salary
  • and Employment
  • and Study and Teaching
  • and Education
  • and Occupation
  • and Training
  • and Benefits
  • and Trends
  • and Examinations
  • and Study Guides